2021 PGA Championship live coverage: How to watch the PGA on Thursday

Jordan Spieth at 2021 PGA Championship

Jordan Spieth is hoping to make some history at the 2021 PGA Championship.

Getty Images

The 2021 PGA Championship has finally arrived, and the stars of the PGA Tour are ready to battle it out for major glory beginning on Thursday at Kiawah Island. Here’s what you need to know to watch the first round of the PGA Championship on TV or online.

Previewing PGA Championship Round 1

Of all the many storylines heading into the week at Kiawah’s Ocean Course, it’s hard to find one better than that of Jordan Spieth. Just a few months ago the three-time major champion looked lost, and everyone was questioning whether he’d ever find his game again. Flash forward to today, and Jordan is making everyone wonder whether he can complete the career grand slam at this year’s PGA.

Rory McIlroy ended his PGA press conference in style.
Rory McIlroy ends presser with hilarious roast of Justin Thomas’ major resume
By: Dylan Dethier

The reason for Spieth’s rising stock value is a recent torrid stretch on Tour, including seven top-10s in his last nine starts, one comeback victory, and another near-miss at the Masters. Spieth tees off at 1:58 p.m. ET on Thursday alongside Webb Simpson and Will Zalatoris.

Justin Thomas and Rory McIlroy, who won the 2012 PGA at Kiawah Island, are among the official betting favorites, and they’ll play the first round together with two-time PGA winner Brooks Koepka beginning at 8:33 a.m. ET, while defending champion Collin Morikawa will follow them in the next group with Bryson DeChambeau and Masters champion Hideki Matsuyama.

No matter which player you’re most eager to watch, the extensive coverage options should satisfy you. ESPN will carry 12 straight hours of coverage on Thursday: six hours on TV preceded by six hours of streaming coverage on ESPN+, which will also carry Featured Group and Featured Hole coverage all day long.

Below you will find everything you need to watch the first round of the PGA Championship on Thursday.

All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.


Sign up for ESPN+ now to catch 12 hours of exclusive coverage of the first and second rounds, early weekend coverage, featured groups and much, much more from the 2021 PGA Championship at Kiawah Island.

How to watch PGA Championship Round 1 on TV

ESPN will air the action for the first round of the 2021 PGA Championship with six hours of TV coverage on Thursday from 1-7 p.m. ET, following seven hours of streaming coverage in the morning on ESPN+.

How to stream PGA Championship Round 1 online

You can stream the first round of the 2021 PGA Championship online in various ways via ESPN+ and the ESPN app, including featured group and featured hole coverage all day, as well as the simulcast of the ESPN broadcast. Here’s the PGA streaming schedule for Thursday:

Exclusive ESPN+ Round 1 Coverage: 7 a.m.-1 p.m. ET (ESPN+)
Featured Groups: All day (ESPN+)
Featured Holes (16, 17 and 18): 8:15 a.m.-7 p.m. (ESPN+)
Round 1 ESPN TV Coverage: 1-7 p.m. (ESPN App)


How to bet on the PGA Championship — risk-free!

Chirp is a new golf-gaming platform that allows users to place live bets using fake money to win amazing, real-life prizes. The app, which is owned by GOLF.com’s parent company, 8AM Golf, is designed to inject the adrenaline of live gambling into a fun, risk-free contest. For more on Chirp, click here.

2021 PGA Championship Round 1 tee times (ET)

Tee No. 1

7:00 a.m. – Patrick Rada, Adam Long, Cameron Tringale
7:11 a.m. – Dylan Frittelli, Larkin Gross, Matt Jones
7:22 a.m. – Byeong Hun An, Derek Holmes, George Coetzee
7:33 a.m. – Bernd Wiesberger, Tom Hoge, Joel Dahmen
7:44 a.m. – John Daly, Jimmy Walker, Jason Dufner
7:55 a.m. – Kevin Kisner, Martin Laird, Hudson Swafford
8:06 a.m. – Henrik Stenson, Danny Willett, Bubba Watson
8:17 a.m. – Keegan Bradley, Martin Kaymer, Charl Schwartzel
8:28 a.m. – Harris English, Stewart Cink, Alex Noren
8:39 a.m. – Kevin Na, Tom Lewis, Jason Kokrak
8:50 a.m. – Jason Scrivener, Stuart Smith, Emiliano Grillo
9:01 a.m. – Brad Marek, Peter Malnati, Lanto Griffin
9:12 a.m. – Mark Geddes, Denny McCarthy, Rikuya Hoshino
12:30 p.m. – Frank Bensel, Jr., Robert Streb, Kurt Kitayama
12:41 p.m. – Alex Beach, Daniel van Tonder, Wyndham Clark
12:52 p.m. – Abraham Ancer, Max Homa, Sam Burns
1:03 p.m. – Tony Finau, Matt Fitzpatrick, Corey Conners
1:14 p.m. – Phil Mickelson, Jason Day, Padraig Harrington
1:25 p.m. – Tommy Fleetwood, Jon Rahm, Patrick Reed
1:36 p.m. – Gary Woodland, Justin Rose, Cameron Smith
1:47 p.m. – Steve Stricker, Billy Horschel, Daniel Berger
1:58 p.m. – Webb Simpson, Will Zalatoris, Jordan Spieth
2:09 p.m. – Dustin Johnson, Shane Lowry, Sergio Garcia
2:20 p.m. – Thomas Pieters, Patrick Cantlay, Matt Kuchar
2:31 p.m. – Chris Kirk, Pete Ballo, Cam Davis
2:42 p.m. – Dean Burmester, Greg Koch, K.H. Lee

Tee No. 10

7:05 a.m. – Ben Polland, Talor Gooch, Harry Higgs
7:16 a.m. – Rob Labritz, Brendan Steele, Harold Varner III
7:27 a.m. – Paul Casey, Garrick Higgo, Marc Leishman
7:38 a.m. – Rickie Fowler, Adam Scott, Tyrrell Hatton
7:49 a.m. – Robert MacIntyre, Cameron Champ, John Catlin
8:00 a.m. – Zach Johnson, Francesco Molinari, Scottie Scheffler
8:11 a.m. – Louis Oosthuizen, Ryan Palmer, Thomas Detry
8:22 a.m. – Lee Westwood, Viktor Hovland, Xander Schauffele
8:33 a.m. – Rory McIlroy, Justin Thomas, Brooks Koepka
8:44 a.m. – Collin Morikawa, Bryson DeChambeau, Hideki Matsuyama
8:55 a.m. – Charley Hoffman, Matt Wallace, Erik van Rooyen
9:06 a.m. – Chan Kim, Brett Walker, Brian Gay
9:17 a.m. – Aaron Wise, Sonny Skinner, Kalle Samooja
12:25 p.m. – Si Woo Kim, Danny Balin, Jim Herman
12:36 p.m. – Sami Valimaki, Joe Summerhays, Richy Werenski
12:47 p.m. – Sebastian Munoz, Tim Pearce, Sam Horsfield
12:58 p.m. – Y.E. Yang, Shaun Micheel, Rich Beem
1:09 p.m. – Joaquin Niemann, J.T. Poston, Aaron Rai
1:20 p.m. – Branden Grace, Adam Hadwin, Rasmus Hojgaard
1:31 p.m. – Russell Henley, Jazz Janewattananond, Carlos Ortiz
1:42 p.m. – Andy Sullivan, Christiaan Bezuidenhout, Kevin Streelman
1:53 p.m. – Ian Poulter, Brian Harman, Sungjae Im
2:04 p.m. – Antoine Rozner, Chez Reavie, Brandon Stone
2:15 p.m. – Victor Perez, Omar Uresti, Maverick McNealy
2:26 p.m. – Tyler Collet, Brendon Todd, Lucas Herbert
2:37 p.m. – Ben Cook, Mackenzie Hughes, Takumi Kanaya

Kevin Cunningham

Golf.com Editor

As managing producer for GOLF.com, Cunningham edits, writes and publishes stories on GOLF.com, and manages the brand’s e-newsletters, which reach more than 1.4 million subscribers each month. A former two-time intern, he also helps keep GOLF.com humming outside the news-breaking stories and service content provided by our reporters and writers, and works with the tech team in the development of new products and innovative ways to deliver an engaging site to our audience.