Rules Guy: Can scores on courses modified due to coronavirus concerns be posted for handicap purposes?
I’ve heard courses are responding to coronavirus concerns by making modifications to the hole, like placing plastic or styrofoam in the cup to keep players from having to reach into it to get their ball. Can the resulting scores still be posted for handicap purposes?
Plastic pipes, hole liners raised an inch or two above the green surface, swim noodles — it’s a brave new world. First things first: A ball that isn’t holed is still a ball that isn’t holed per the Rules of Golf, specifically, Rule 3.3c. Here’s the good news: A round played under these, er, holes barred conditions is A-okay for handicap purposes, at least for the moment, as the USGA says it will periodically update its guidance on this front. For that, we can thank not only the USGA’s responsiveness but, more specifically, the “most likely score guidelines” as laid out in Rule 3.3 of the Rules of Handicapping. This procedure is meant to support certain match-play formats in which a player isn’t required to hole out. (Think: concessions and four-ball partner play.) At present, it’s temporarily in effect when courses are employing the kinds of safety measures you referenced.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to firstname.lastname@example.org. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.
Want more Rules Guy?
Can I use glasses to access the materials in my green-reading book?
Are you allowed to walk up and watch the group ahead putt?
What do you do when several balls deflect off each other?
Can you check a bunker’s depth with a tee?