Jon Rahm, Rory McIlroy betting favorites to win Farmers Insurance Open

Jon Rahm watches a shot at the 2021 Sentry Tournament of Champions.

Getty Images

Jon Rahm is one of the betting favorites to win this week’s Farmers Insurance Open, but are we really that surprised? No, we are not. Rahm has played the Farmers four times in his career and won in his debut in 2017. Since then he’s finished 29th, 5th and 2nd. His runner-up finish last year was a stroke shy of winner Marc Leishman.

According to, Rahm and Rory McIlroy are the betting favorites to win the Farmers, both with 8/1 odds. McIlroy tied for 3rd last year, three behind Leishman, but he’s made the most of his two starts at Torrey Pines. In his other start there, in 2019, he was 5th.

Rahm opened his season at the Sentry Tournament of Champions earlier this month and tied for 7th. McIlroy is making his first PGA Tour start since the November Masters, where he tied for 5th, although he was 3rd at the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship on Sunday. McIlroy held the 54-hole lead but Tyrrell Hatton shot 66 to win.

Peter Jacobsen smiles in 2016
Peter Jacobsen on Bill Murray, Tiger Woods and an old neighbor who’s back in the news
By: Michael Bamberger

Xander Schauffele has the next-best odds to win the Farmers at 12/1, despite his history in the event. He’s missed the cut in three of his four starts there. Defending champ Leishman is 35/1 to win, and last week’s American Express winner Si Woo Kim is 40/1 to win.

Complete odds to win are listed below. The Farmers begins on Thursday at Torrey Pines’ North and South courses in La Jolla, Calif.

How to bet on the Farmers — risk-free!

Chirp is a new golf-gaming platform that allows users to place live bets using fake money to win amazing, real-life prizes. The app, which is owned by’s parent company, 8AM Golf, is designed to inject the adrenaline of live gambling into a fun, risk-free contest. For more on Chirp, click here.

Farmers Insurance Open odds to win

Jon Rahm 8/1
Rory McIlroy 8/1
Xander Schauffele 12/1
Tony Finau 20/1
Patrick Reed 25/1
Harris English 25/1
Brooks Koepka 30/1
Viktor Hovland 30/1
Hideki Matsuyama 30/1
Sungjae Im 30/1
Scottie Scheffler 35/1
Matthew Wolff 35/1
Marc Leishman 35/1
Si Woo Kim 40/1
Adam Scott 40/1
Jason Day 40/1
Bubba Watson 40/1
Cameron Smith 50/1
Will Zalatoris 50/1
Ryan Palmer 50/1
Billy Horschel 60/1
Rickie Fowler 60/1
Gary Woodland 60/1
Louis Oosthuizen 60/1
Corey Conners 60/1
Cameron Davis 60/1
Jason Kokrak 60/1
Cameron Champ 60/1
Jordan Spieth 80/1
Francesco Molinari 80/1
Sam Burns 80/1
Carlos Ortiz 80/1
Talor Gooch 80/1
Emiliano Grillo 80/1
Byeong Hun An 100/1
Lanto Griffin 100/1
Ryan Moore 100/1
Charles Howell III 100/1
Alex Noren 100/1
Dylan Frittelli 100/1
Charley Hoffman 100/1
Phil Mickelson 125/1
Erik van Rooyen 125/1
Joel Dahmen 125/1
Mackenzie Hughes 125/1
Kevin Streelman 125/1
Adam Hadwin 125/1
Doc Redman 125/1
Maverick McNealy 125/1
Max Homa 125/1
Sepp Straka 125/1
Brandt Snedeker 125/1
Doug Ghim 125/1
John Huh 125/1
Harold Varner III 150/1
Wyndham Clark 150/1
Tom Hoge 150/1
Jhonattan Vegas 150/1
Lucas Glover 150/1
Russell Knox 150/1
James Hahn 150/1
Harry Higgs 150/1
Rory Sabbatini 150/1
Cameron Tringale 150/1
Henrik Norlander 150/1
Luke List 150/1
Patrick Rodgers 150/1
J.T. Poston 150/1
Matt Jones 150/1
J.B. Holmes 150/1
Denny McCarthy 200/1
Peter Malnati 200/1
Keith Mitchell 200/1
Richy Werenski 200/1
Matthew NeSmith 200/1
Tom Lewis 200/1
Kyle Stanley 200/1
Scott Piercy 200/1
Martin Laird 200/1
Kramer Hickok 200/1
Charl Schwartzel 250/1
Pat Perez 250/1
Tyler Duncan 250/1
Justin Suh 250/1
Kyoung-Hoon Lee 250/1
Adam Schenk 250/1
Scott Stallings 250/1
Robert Streb 250/1
Kristoffer Ventura 250/1
Brian Stuard 250/1
Andy Ogletree 300/1
Camilo Villegas 300/1
Chesson Hadley 300/1
Will Gordon 300/1
Danny Lee 300/1
Jason Dufner 300/1
Bronson Burgoon 300/1
Aaron Baddeley 300/1
Roger Sloan 300/1
Troy Merritt 300/1
Bo Hoag 300/1
Brandon Hagy 300/1
Robby Shelton 300/1
Chase Seiffert 300/1
Steve Stricker 400/1
Anirban Lahiri 400/1
Xinjun Zhang 400/1
Tyler McCumber 400/1
Beau Hossler 400/1
Sung Kang 400/1
Jimmy Walker 400/1
Jamie Lovemark 400/1
Sam Ryder 400/1
J.J. Spaun 400/1
Seung-Yul Noh 500/1
Nick Watney 500/1
Tyler Strafaci 500/1
Hank Lebioda 500/1
Kevin Tway 500/1
Grayson Murray 500/1
Sebastian Cappelen 500/1
Cameron Percy 500/1
Ted Potter Jr 500/1
Mark Anderson 500/1
Kelly Kraft 500/1
Rob Oppenheim 500/1
Vincent Whaley 500/1
David Hearn 500/1
Satoshi Kodaira 500/1
Scott Brown 500/1
Tim Wilkinson 500/1
K.J. Choi 600/1
Joseph Bramlett 600/1
Rhein Gibson 600/1
Michael Gligic 600/1
Chris Baker 600/1
Scott Harrington 600/1
Ryan Brehm 600/1
Michael Kim 1000/1
Ben Taylor 1000/1
Matt Every 1000/1
Fabian Gomez 1000/1
Michael Gellerman 1000/1
Nelson Ledesma 1000/1
Kamaiu Johnson 1000/1
Jim Knous 1000/1
Hunter Mahan 1000/1
Rafael Campos 1000/1
Martin Trainer 2000/1
John Senden 2000/1
Kevin Stadler 2000/1
Kyle Mendoza 2000/1

Josh Berhow Editor

Josh Berhow is the managing editor at The Minnesota native graduated with a journalism degree from Minnesota State University in Mankato. You can reach him at