Tommy Fleetwood miraculously holed out TWO balls with one swing (on the Road Hole!)
Tommy Fleetwood has played the Old Course at St. Andrews’ famous “Road Hole” 17th countless times, most recently at the Open Championship in July and again this week in preparation for the DP World Tour’s Alfred Dunhill Links Championship.
Still, the Englishman most assuredly has never hit a shot there like the one he pulled off on Wednesday.
Check out this video from TaylorMade’s social feed, in which Fleetwood appears to be playing from a spot in between the road and the walking path beyond the 17th green:
Anyone who has had the misfortune of hitting it long on the Road Hole or who has watched the Open at St. Andrews or the Alfred Dunhill knows how difficult the shot is to begin with.
Amazingly, Fleetwood holed not only his ball but also another ball sitting near the hole, which caromed into the cup off Fleetwood’s orb like a billiards shot.
In pool, that’s a scratch. But in golf, that’s, well, something you don’t see everyday.
It’s unclear if Fleetwood actually was playing his third shot or if the ball near the hole was his or a playing partner’s, and given he was playing a practice round, the answer to that question may not matter all that much.
For what it’s worth, if both balls were in play, Fleetwood’s chip-in would still count, but the other ball would get replaced as close as possible to its original position, per the rules.
Still, let the record show that Fleetwood holed two balls in one swing on what is one of the scariest shots in golf.
The two-word reaction of the awed onlooker who shot the video summed it up best: “Oh. My.”