Tiger Woods honored with USGA’s most prestigious award

Tiger Woods smiles and claps during 2024 PNC Championship

Tiger Woods pictured during the final round of the PNC Championship in December.

Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images

On Sunday the USGA announced the latest recipient of the Bob Jones Award, the organization’s highest honor, and you might have heard of him: Tiger Woods.

Woods received the award “in recognition of his commitment to sportsmanship and respect for golf’s time-honored traditions,” according to a press release from the USGA.

There has rarely been a more deserving champion. With 15 major championship victories and 82 PGA Tour wins on his resume, Woods has accomplished more and changed the game of golf to a greater degree than anyone else in the last few decades, if not ever.

Tiger Woods stands on a green at the Genesis Invitational.
Tiger Woods to make first-ever appearance at this exclusive event
By: Jack Hirsh

“This award goes beyond playing performance, recognizing the lasting impact of one person’s journey that has forever changed the image and growth of golf,” USGA CEO Mike Whan said in the press release. “There are very few who stand alongside Tiger Woods in terms of on-course accomplishments, and he is in a class of his own when it comes to the impact he has made on the game and future generations who will play it.”

Woods was also quoted in the release, expressing gratitude to be acknowledged alongside the award’s namesake.

“Bob Jones was a pillar of our game because of the integrity with which he played it, and I’m truly humbled to receive the award that bears his name and join the many who have received it before me who continue his legacy,” Woods’ statement read. “It’s especially fitting to receive this honor from the USGA, which has meant so much to my career and the entire game of golf.”

In all, Woods has won nine victories in USGA championships: three consecutive U.S. Junior Amateur titles, three consecutive U.S. Amateur titles and three U.S. Open wins.

Woods, 48, is in the midst of his latest comeback on the PGA Tour following injuries. He withdrew from the Genesis Invitational in February due to the flu. He’s expected to play in the Seminole Pro-Member event on Monday, but his next Tour start is unknown at this point.

You can check out a full list of past recipients of the Bob Jones Award below.

Past Bob Jones Award winners

1955 — Francis Ouimet
1956 — William C. Campbell
1957 — Mildred D. Zaharias
1958 — Margaret Curtis
1959 — Findlay S. Douglas
1960 — Charles Evans Jr.
1961 — Joseph B. Carr
1962 — Horton Smith
1963 — Patty Berg
1964 — Charles Coe
1965 — Glenna Collett Vare
1966 — Gary Player
1967 — Richard S. Tufts
1968 — Robert B. Dickson
1969 — Gerald H. Micklem
1970 — Roberto de Vicenzo
1971 — Arnold Palmer
1972 — Michael Bonallack
1973 — Gene Littler
1974 — Byron Nelson
1975 — Jack Nicklaus
1976 — Ben Hogan
1977 — Joseph C. Dey Jr.
1978 — Bing Crosby & Bob Hope
1979 — Tom Kite
1980 — Charles Yates
1981 — JoAnne Carner
1982 — William J. Patton
1983 — Maureen Ruttle Garrett
1984 — R. Jay Sigel
1985 — Fuzzy Zoeller
1986 — Jess Sweetser
1987 — Tom Watson
1988 — Isaac B. Grainger
1989 — Chi Chi Rodriguez
1990 — Peggy Kirk Bell
1991 — Ben Crenshaw
1992 — Gene Sarazen
1993 — P.J. Boatwright Jr.
1994 — Lewis Oehmig
1995 — Herbert Warren Wind
1996 — Betsy Rawls
1997 — Fred Brand Jr.
1998 — Nancy Lopez
1999 — Edgar Updegraff
2000 — Barbara McIntire
2001 — Thomas Cousins
2002 — Judy Rankin
2003 — Carol Semple Thompson
2004 — Jackie Burke Jr.
2005 — Nick Price
2006 — Jay Haas
2007 — Louise Suggs
2008 — George H.W. Bush
2009 — O. Gordon Brewer Jr.
2010 — Mickey Wright
2011 — Lorena Ochoa
2012 — Annika Sorenstam
2013 — Davis Love III
2014 — Payne Stewart
2015 — Barbara Nicklaus
2016 — Judy Bell
2017 — Bob Ford
2018 — Dennis Walters
2019 — Lee Elder
2020 — Se Ri Pak
2021 — Robert C. Lewis Jr.
2022 — Juli Inkster
2023 — Johnny Miller

Kevin Cunningham

Kevin Cunningham

Golf.com Editor

As managing producer for GOLF.com, Cunningham edits, writes and publishes stories on GOLF.com, and manages the brand’s e-newsletters, which reach more than 1.4 million subscribers each month. A former two-time intern, he also helps keep GOLF.com humming outside the news-breaking stories and service content provided by our reporters and writers, and works with the tech team in the development of new products and innovative ways to deliver an engaging site to our audience.