Sergio Garcia spits out drink during Brooks Koepka’s spat with rules official
Koepka and Berger were 1 down, and Berger’s drive ended up in long fescue behind a bunker. After assessing his lie, Koepka called a rules official over to ask for relief from drainage that he said would interfere with his swing.
As the players all gathered around the area to observe the discussion, Garcia calmly took a swig of his beverage. When the rules official told Koepka that, though the drainage area is an obstruction, he didn’t think it would interfere with Koepka’s swing, Koepka quipped, “You don’t think my club might hit right there? Have you ever seen me hit a ball?”
Garcia immediately doubled over with laughter, spitting out his drink in the process.
The rules official remained unruffled by Koepka’s chippy response. “I’ve seen you hit plenty of them, yeah.”
Though Koepka called for a second opinion, he still wasn’t granted relief. Koepka and Berger managed to tie the hole, but ultimately fell to Garcia and Rahm, 3 and 1.