Sergio Garcia spits out drink during Brooks Koepka’s spat with rules official

sergio garcia spit

Sergio Garcia was highly entertained by Brooks Koepka's back-and-forth with the rules official.

NBC

During Brooks Koepka and Daniel Berger’s tight Friday morning foursomes match against formidable European duo Jon Rahm and Sergio Garcia, things got a bit heated on the 15th hole.

Koepka and Berger were 1 down, and Berger’s drive ended up in long fescue behind a bunker. After assessing his lie, Koepka called a rules official over to ask for relief from drainage that he said would interfere with his swing.

brooks koepka talks to a rules official at the ryder cup
Brooks Koepka snaps at rules officials after controversial Ryder Cup decision
By: Josh Berhow

As the players all gathered around the area to observe the discussion, Garcia calmly took a swig of his beverage. When the rules official told Koepka that, though the drainage area is an obstruction, he didn’t think it would interfere with Koepka’s swing, Koepka quipped, “You don’t think my club might hit right there? Have you ever seen me hit a ball?”

Garcia immediately doubled over with laughter, spitting out his drink in the process.

The rules official remained unruffled by Koepka’s chippy response. “I’ve seen you hit plenty of them, yeah.”

Though Koepka called for a second opinion, he still wasn’t granted relief. Koepka and Berger managed to tie the hole, but ultimately fell to Garcia and Rahm, 3 and 1.

Jessica Marksbury
Golf.com

As a four-year member of Columbia’s inaugural class of female varsity golfers, Jessica can out-birdie everyone on the masthead. She can out-hustle them in the office, too, where she’s primarily responsible for producing both print and online features, and overseeing major special projects, such as GOLF’s inaugural Style Is­sue, which debuted in February 2018. Her origi­nal interview series, “A Round With,” debuted in November of 2015, and appeared in both in the magazine and in video form on GOLF.com.