PGA Championship field: Updates on who’s in and who’s out

pga championship trophy

The first major of 2020 is finally here.

Getty Images

At long last, the first major championship of 2020 is finally here. The PGA Championship, which was once glory’s last shot, is now glory’s first shot with players converging on San Francisco to tee it up at TPC Harding Park. And although it’s early in the week, there has already been some shuffling of the field for the championship. Here’s a breakdown of who’s in and who’s out (for now).


Talor Gooch – takes place of Padraig Harrington
Troy Merritt – takes place of Fransesco Molinari
Russell Henley – takes place of Paul Waring
Wydham Clark – takes places of JB Holmes
Brian Stuart – takes place of Charles Howell III
Bud Cauley – takes place of Branden Grace
Denny McCarthy – takes places of John Daly
Emiliano Grillo – takes place of Vijay Singh
Xinjun Zhang – takes place of Ryan Moore
Richy Werenski – winner of Barracuda Championship
Alex Noren – takes place of Vaughn Taylor

Fransesco Molinaro is the highest-ranked player who has withdrawn from the field so far at No. 37 in the Official World Golf Ranking. He has not played in any events since the return to golf and will miss a major for the first time since the 2016 U.S. Open.

Branden Grace was forced to WD after testing positive for Covid-19. He was among the leaders at the Barracuda Championship when his positive test results came back. Ryder Cup captain Padraig Harrington did not give a reason for his WD, although it has been speculated that coronavirus concerns in the U.S. played a role.

Ryan Moore is latest WD, citing a “schedule conflict” as the reason he will miss the championship. Check out the entire field and alternate list below, which will be updated throughout the week.

Byeong Hun An
Abraham Ancer
Mike Auterson
Danny Balin
Alex Beach
Rich Beem
Rich Berberian Jr.
Daniel Berger
Justin Bertsch
Christiaan Bezuidenhout
Keegan Bradley
Rafa Cabrera Bello
Jorge Campillo
Patrick Cantlay
Jason Caron
Paul Casey
Bud Cauley
Cameron Champ
Wyndham Clark
Corey Conners
Benny Cook
Joel Dahmen
Jason Day
Bryson DeChambeau
Jason Dufner
Tyler Duncan
Harris English
Tony Finau
Matt Fitzpatrick
Tommy Fleetwood
Rickie Fowler
Dylan Frittelli
Jim Furyk
Sergio Garcia
Judd Gibb
Lucas Glover
Taylor Gooch
Branden Grace
Lanto Griffin
Emiliano Grillo
Adam Hadwin
Brian Harman
Jeff Hart
Tyrrell Hatton
Benjamin Hebert
Russell Henley
Lucas Herbert
Jim Herman
Tom Hoge
J.B. Holmes
Max Homa
Billy Horschel
Viktor Hovland
Mark Hubbard
Mackenzie Hughes
Sungjae Im
Ryo Ishikawa
Jazz Janewattananond
Marty Jertson
Dustin Johnson
Zach Johnson
Zach. J. Johnson
Matt Jones
Sung Kang
Martin Kaymer
Chan Kim
Joohyung Kim
Si Woo Kim
Marcus Kinhult
Kevin Kisner
Kurt Kitayama
Alex Knoll
Brooks Koepka
Jason Kokrak
Matt Kuchar
Rob Labritz
Andrew Landry
Nate Lashley
Danny Lee
Marc Leishman
Tom Lewis
Haotong Li
Luke List
Adam Long
Mike Lorenzo-Vera
Davis Love III
Shane Lowry
Joost Luiten
Robert MacIntyre
Hideki Matsuyama
Denny McCarthy
Graeme McDowell
Rory McIlroy
Troy Merritt
Shaun Micheel
Phil Mickelson
Keith Mitchell
Collin Morikawa
Sebastián Muñoz
David Muttitt
Kevin Na
Joaquin Niemann
Alex Noren
Shaun Norris
John O’Leary
Louis Oosthuizen
Carlos Ortiz
Ryan Palmer
C.T. Pan
Victor Perez
Rod Perry
Scott Piercy
J.T. Poston
Ian Poulter
Andrew Putnam
Jon Rahm
Chez Reavie
Doc Redman
Patrick Reed
Justin Rose
J.R. Roth
Rory Sabbatini
Xander Schauffele
Scottie Scheffler
Matthias Schwab
Charl Schwartzel
Adam Scott
Webb Simpson
Cameron Smith
Brandt Snedeker
Bob Sowards
Jordan Spieth
Brendan Steele
Henrik Stenson
Sepp Straka
Kevin Streelman
Steve Stricker
Brian Stuard
Ken Tanigawa
Nick Taylor
Vaughn Taylor
Justin Thomas
Michael Thompson
Brendon Todd
Cameron Tringale
Erik van Rooyen
Harold Varner III
Ryan Vermeer
Jimmy Walker
Matt Wallace
Shawn Warren
Bubba Watson
Richy Werenski
Bernd Wiesberger
Danny Willett
Matthew Wolff
Gary Woodland
Tiger Woods
Xinjun Zhang


1. Pat Perez
2. Henrik Norlander
3. Scott Brown
4. Maverick McNealy
5. Nick Watney


Zephyr Melton Editor

Zephyr Melton is an assistant editor for where he spends his days blogging, producing and editing. Prior to joining the team at GOLF, he attended the University of Texas followed by stops with the Texas Golf Association, Team USA, the Green Bay Packers and the PGA Tour. He assists on all things instruction and covers amateur and women’s golf. He can be reached at