x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
‘I have to disqualify myself’: Tour winner’s assumption leads to wild rules DQ
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
      • PGA Tour Schedule
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • Subpar
      • Seen & Heard
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Winner’s Bag
    • Shows
      • Fully Equipped
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
    • Collections
      • The GOLF Collection
      • The Birdie Juice Collection
      • The Fully Equipped Collection
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
    • PGA Tour Schedule
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Winner’s Bag
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • Subpar
    • Seen & Heard
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Fully Equipped
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • The GOLF Collection
    • The Birdie Juice Collection
    • The Fully Equipped Collection
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
InsideGolf

Over $140 of value - Just $39.99

InsideGOLF
News

‘I have to disqualify myself’: Tour winner’s assumption leads to wild rules DQ

By: Nick Piastowski
  • Follow on Twitter
April 19, 2025
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Ben Crane

Ben Crane hits his tee shot on Friday on the 13th hole at the Puntacana Resort.

Getty Images

Ben Crane’s good bounce led to him bouncing himself. 

Playing the third round of the PGA Tour’s Corales Puntacana Championship on Saturday, the five-time Tour winner went left off the tee and toward water on the 8th hole at the Puntacana Resort in the Dominican Republic, then dropped and hit a second ball — and the shots started a sequence that led to Crane disqualifying himself due to a wrong-ball infraction. The news came early Saturday afternoon via a short news release from the PGA Tour.  

According to both a video Crane posted to his X account and those on the grounds, Crane’s first ball had hit rocks and bounced back into play, but he didn’t spot that and believed his ball was gone. Here’s where things get hairy. His second ball finished next to his first ball, and Crane proceeded to hit what he thought was the second ball, finished the hole — then spotted a scuff mark on the ball and became unsure that he had chosen the right ball.

A short while later, Crane and the Tour’s rules committee ruled that Crane had finished the 8th hole with his original ball and didn’t correct the error. As a result, he disqualified himself for a breach of Rule 6.3c (1), which reads in part this way:

“A player must not make a stroke at a wrong ball.

“In stroke play, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty strokes) and must correct the mistake by continuing play with the original ball by playing it as it lies or taking relief under the Rules. The stroke made with the wrong ball and any more strokes before the mistake is corrected (including strokes made and any additional penalty strokes solely from playing that ball) do not count.

“If the player does not correct the mistake before making a stroke to begin another hole or, for the final hole of the round, before returning their scorecard, the player is disqualified.”

Rule 6.3c (1) is rarely seen, and a DQ because of it is more rare. There is also no forgiveness for finding the first ball after playing the second, as Rule 17.3c reads in part this way: “If a player’s ball has not been found and it is known or virtually certain that the ball came to rest in a penalty area, the player may take penalty relief under Rule 17.1d or 17.2. Once the player puts another ball in play to take relief in this way, the original ball is no longer in play and must not be played. This is true even if it is then found on the course before the end of the three-minute search time.”

Afterward, Crane shared his side on his video.

Disqualified myself today here is why. pic.twitter.com/i26Gxv8d80

— Ben Crane (@bencranegolf) April 19, 2025

“Corales Open, Puntacana today, on the eighth hole, Saturday,” he started. “And I hit my tee shot into the hazard. After I hit into the hazard, I went forward and took a drop and played another ball into the fairway. I hit into the fairway. There’s two balls in the fairway, and they’re both mine. And [playing partner] David Lipsky and I are like, wait a minute. what’s going on?

“Well, we realized that my ball has hit off the rocks and gone out into the fairway. Now I have two balls in the fairway. I assume that my ball on the right was the second ball I put in play. And I play that golf ball and putt out and realized there’s a big rock scuff on that ball. And I did not do a good job of identifying when I took my drop of what number I was playing. And I realized I had played the wrong golf ball through the hole and realized I have to disqualify myself because I’m pretty sure that’s the ball that I had abandoned and I had played it.”

Latest In News

3 hours ago

Rory McIlroy swears by this psychologist. One word reveals their secret

4 hours ago

At PGA Championship, golf's dream rivalry is primed for 3rd showdown

4 hours ago

How Tiger Woods’ surprising humanness changed this pro’s mindset

6 hours ago

PGA Championship tickets: What it costs to go right now

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski

Golf.com Editor

Nick Piastowski is a Senior Editor at Golf.com and Golf Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and developing stories across the golf space. And when he’s not writing about ways to hit the golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native is probably playing the game, hitting the ball left, right and short, and drinking a cold beer to wash away his score. You can reach out to him about any of these topics — his stories, his game or his beers — at nick.piastowski@golf.com.

  • Author Twitter Account

Related Articles

Rules
golfer hits ball from bunker and then places ball on the green

This genius use of stroke-and-distance rule has been viewed 2.4 million times

By: Zephyr Melton
Lifestyle
golfer confused after ball hits tree

5 bizarre rules quandaries for which everyday golfers sought USGA guidance

By: Josh Sens
News
Ben Crane

Golf punished 2 golfers this weekend. And the scene was also beautiful

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Jake Knapp

After video review of rules penalty, pro made last week’s PGA Tour cut

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Bryson DeChambeau

How Bryson DeChambeau’s clever rules usage — put him on a home’s balcony

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Jason Day, Charley Hoffman, Sepp Straka

Pro dumps 2 into water — then gets ‘big break’ after intriguing rules talk

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Mark Litton, Ewen Ferguson, Jason Scrivener, Daniel Hillier

Rules official warns pro — and he says the alarm 'ruined his day'

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Akshay Bhatia, rules official

Pro thinks he was clever. Then comes a conversation with rules official

By: Nick Piastowski
Rules
Cam Davis

‘Going to be expensive:’ Pros’ confusion leads to 4 rules penalty strokes 

By: Nick Piastowski
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved. All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.

Go to mobile version