Tiger Woods excused this amateur’s blunder. But the next swing was worse

In a more than quarter-century-long career during which he was the most sought-after pro-am partner β€” and will be if and when he plays again β€” it’s safe to say Tiger Woods has seen his share of ugly golf shots.

Professional gambler Ben Lamb added one more to the list earlier this year.

On this week’s episode of GOLF Subpar, Lamb, who is about a 7 or 8 handicap, told co-hosts Colt Knost and Drew Stolz how Woods was sympathetic to Lamb’s tee shot on Riviera’s 5th hole during the Wednesday pro-am at this year’s Genesis Invitational.

“So he hits a 2-iron off the [back] tee, 40 yards behind me and I said, ‘Should I hit driver?'” Lamb recalled of the short dogleg-left par-4 with a barranca running through the fairway. “He says, ‘Can you a draw a 3-wood?’ And I said, ‘Of course I can draw a 3-wood.'”

Tiger Woods, Captains Assistant of the U.S. Team and Fred Couples, Captains Assistant of the U.S. Team, congratulate Daniel Berger of the U.S. Team after putting in to win his match and clinch the Presidents Cup during the Sunday singles matches at the Presidents Cup at Liberty National Golf Club on October 1, 2017, in Jersey City, New Jersey.
‘I can’t do it’: Why this pro didn’t want Tiger Woods following him at the Presidents Cup
By: Jack Hirsh

This is where the movie-trailer narrator comes in with: He didn’t.

“I duck-hooked it,” Lamb said.

Woods could have laughed at the result, but Lamb said he actually did something to make him feel a bit better.

“He’s like, ‘Ah, the wind hit that one. No problem,'” Lamb said.

Of course, the wind hadn’t caused Lamb’s miscue, but it’s nice to hear the GOAT at least pretending to make an excuse for your poor swing. That or it’s completely demoralizing. We’ll leave that up to you to decide.

Anyway, with his next shot, Lamb tried to play a hero ball from the trees on the left, which, of course, always works out.

tiger woods
When Tiger Woods retreats, it’s OK to be selfishly wistful about what you’ll miss
By: Sean Zak

“And there’s an electric box which I didn’t see,” Lamb said. “I had a hybrid, and I was kind of going up and through these trees to the right, which was pretty impossible. But I’m trying to make birdies, you know, so I’m going to go for it.

“I didn’t see the electric box until I heard it. It was loud. It hit hard and [my ball] went, like, all the way back behind, like the 30 people in the fairway with the cameras and all his people and whatever.”

Lamb said his brother, Shane, who was caddying for him, just looked down and shook his head. Then Shane asked him if he wanted to keep playing the hole.

There was only one way Lamb could respond:

“I say, ‘Go pick up the f—— ball.'”

For more from Lamb, including his explanation of “gambler’s rules” and greasing on the golf course, check out the full episode of Subpar below.

Jack Hirsh

Golf.com Editor

Jack Hirsh is an assistant editor at GOLF. A Pennsylvania native, Jack is a 2020 graduate of Penn State University, earning degrees in broadcast journalism and political science. He was captain of his high school golf team and recently returned to the program to serve as head coach. Jack also still *tries* to remain competitive in local amateurs. Before joining GOLF, Jack spent two years working at a TV station in Bend, Oregon, primarily as a Multimedia Journalist/reporter, but also producing, anchoring and even presenting the weather. He can be reached at jack.hirsh@golf.com.