x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
Why Lexi Thompson was not penalized during rules incident at Women’s Open
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
      • PGA Tour Schedule
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • Subpar
      • Seen & Heard
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Winner’s Bag
    • Shows
      • Fully Equipped
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
    • Collections
      • The GOLF Collection
      • The Birdie Juice Collection
      • The Fully Equipped Collection
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
    • PGA Tour Schedule
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Winner’s Bag
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • Subpar
    • Seen & Heard
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Fully Equipped
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • The GOLF Collection
    • The Birdie Juice Collection
    • The Fully Equipped Collection
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
InsideGolf
Rules

Why Lexi Thompson was not penalized during rules incident at Women’s Open

By: Sean Zak
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on Instagram
August 21, 2020
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Lexi thompson

Lexi Thompson's Women's British Open ended in a disappointing missed cut.

Twitter.com

A questionable rules incident involving Lexi Thompson potentially improving her lie took place late Thursday at the Women’s British Open, but was eventually deemed legal by the R&A.

Toward the end of her first round, and in brutal playing conditions at Royal Troon, Thompson had missed her tee shot out to the right on the par-5 16th. Her ball rolled right up against a tuft of fescue grass, making it tricky to get the clubface clean on the ball.

After sizing up the shot, Thompson very clearly used the clubhead to touch the grass, pushing it away from her ball. Was it an intentional move to improve her lie? That’s what most commenters on social media determined. 

Literally just turned on the coverage of Women’s Open Championship to see this 😳@mikeclaytongolf @GeoffShac @Rod_Morri pic.twitter.com/HQe4OFLh7T

— Rob Williamson (@YettyGolf) August 21, 2020

Thompson touched the grass that way twice before eventually striking her shot. She went on to make birdie on the hole for the only circle on her scorecard Thursday.

But did she improve her lie? The R&A decided that she did not, and clarified the ruling in a statement:

“Following a discussion between Chief Referee David Rickman and the player prior to her signing her scorecard it was determined that, although the player had moved a growing natural object behind her ball, it had returned to its original position.

“Therefore, the lie of the ball was not improved and there was no breach of Rule 8.1.”

There you have it. Rule 8.1 restricts what a player may do to improve any of the “conditions affecting their stroke. Read more about that specific rule here. Thompson shot 78 in the first round and followed that up with a 75 Friday to miss the cut.

Latest In Instruction

4 hours ago

Drew Stoltz's favorite bunker trick to fool your unsuspecting buddies

24 hours ago

The mental habits that win major championships

2 days ago

A step-by-step guide to chip with your hybrid

2 days ago

5 keys for scoring from the rough

Sean Zak

Golf.com Editor

Sean Zak is a writer at GOLF Magazine and just published his first book, which follows his travels in Scotland during the most pivotal summer in the game’s history.

  • Author Twitter Account
  • Author Instagram Account

Related Articles

Drivers
Scottie Scheffler hits a driver at the PGA Championship.

Scottie Scheffler reveals failed driver test, calls for more 'robust' protocols

By: Jack Hirsh
Drivers
Rory McIlroy sees his reflection in his driver.

How often do drivers get 'too hot?' Here's what Tour fitters told us

By: Jack Hirsh
Rules
golfer hits ball from bunker and then places ball on the green

This genius use of stroke-and-distance rule has been viewed 2.4 million times

By: Zephyr Melton
Lifestyle
golfer confused after ball hits tree

5 bizarre rules quandaries for which everyday golfers sought USGA guidance

By: Josh Sens
News
Ben Crane

‘I have to disqualify myself’: Tour winner’s assumption leads to wild rules DQ

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Jake Knapp

After video review of rules penalty, pro made last week’s PGA Tour cut

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Bryson DeChambeau

How Bryson DeChambeau’s clever rules usage — put him on a home’s balcony

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Jason Day, Charley Hoffman, Sepp Straka

Pro dumps 2 into water — then gets ‘big break’ after intriguing rules talk

By: Nick Piastowski
News
Mark Litton, Ewen Ferguson, Jason Scrivener, Daniel Hillier

Rules official warns pro — and he says the alarm 'ruined his day'

By: Nick Piastowski
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved. All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.

Go to mobile version