Bizarre out-of-bounds ruling at Q-School has huge implications for pro

Pro golfer Mark Anguiano poses for photo on tee at the Final Stage of the Korn Ferry Tour Qualifying Tournament

Mark Anguiano (left) earned status on the Korn Ferry Tour thanks to a reversed ruling in the Final Stage of the Qualifying Tournament.

mark.anguiano on Instagram

Twenty-nine-year-old pro Mark Anguiano finally earned his way on to the Korn Ferry Tour yesterday, thanks to his T29 finish at the weather-delayed Final Stage of the Korn Ferry Tour Qualifying Tournament at the Landings Club in Savannah, Ga.

It was a momentous step in the right direction for the journeyman pro’s career, earning him guaranteed starts in the first eight events of the new KFT season. But if not for a wild ruling and, more important, the eagle eye of his caddie, Anguiano’s future might look much less bright.

korn ferry tour sign
Korn Ferry Tour releases 26-event 2022 season schedule
By: Zephyr Melton

Monday Q Info (@acaseofthegolf1) broke the story on Twitter, shining a spotlight on the bizarre set of circumstances Anguiano faced in the third round with his career on the line.

According to Monday Q Info, during Sunday’s third round at the Landings Club’s Magnolia Course, Anguiano hit a tee shot wide right that appeared to be out of bounds. After walking up to the ball, a rules official ran a string between two OB stakes, finding the pro’s ball to be just out by a couple of inches.

At least, the rules official thought they were OB stakes. After heading back to the tee to hit another drive, what would have been his third stroke of the hole, Anguiano’s caddie realized that one of the stakes didn’t look like the others. After further inspection by the rules official, it was determined that the caddie was right: the stake in question was actually from a homeowner’s yard, and Anguiano’s original tee shot was in bounds.

Because the rules official was responsible for the mistake, Anguiano was permitted to drop at the original location and finish the hole without penalty. He made par, and the two strokes he likely saved proved to be decisive.

Anguiano’s two-under total earned him eight starts on the Korn Ferry Tour. Had he finished two strokes worse at even par, his guaranteed starts for the 2022 KFT season would have plummeted to zero.

Late Monday night, Anguinao shared Monday Q Info’s tweet, while appropriately giving credit where credit was due:

Kevin Cunningham

Kevin Cunningham Editor

As managing producer for, Cunningham edits, writes and publishes stories on, and manages the brand’s e-newsletters, which reach more than 1.4 million subscribers each month. A former two-time intern, he also helps keep humming outside the news-breaking stories and service content provided by our reporters and writers, and works with the tech team in the development of new products and innovative ways to deliver an engaging site to our audience.