‘Gutted’: Rules infraction disqualifies pro, costs him shot at Ryder Cup

Thomas Detry

Thomas Detry hits a shot on Friday on the 2nd hole at Wentworth Golf Club.

Getty Images

Thomas Detry, in one stroke, went from contending both at the BMW PGA Championship and in the European Ryder Cup team race, to DQ’d and done. 

He had signed his name. 

Detry, after shooting a second-round 70 on Friday at one of the European Tour’s biggest events, was disqualified after turning in an incorrect scorecard, a violation of Rule 3.3b of the Rules of Golf. The specifics of Detry’s infraction were not immediately known. 

“Gutted to have to confirm that due to signing for a wrong scorecard this afternoon, I was disqualified from the @BMWPGA,” Detry tweeted. “Tough pill to swallow after a solid battle out there the past few days & very sad to finish such an incredible event too early.”

While the infraction occurs occasionally, rare is it that it happens to a player in contention. Detry’s 70 followed a first-round 69, and he would have finished Friday in a tie for 25th and seven strokes behind the leader, Kiradech Aphibarnrat. 

Even rarer is the fact that it all but eliminates Detry from contention for the European Ryder Cup team. While he could still earn one of three captain’s picks to the squad, a victory at the BMW would have likely secured one of nine automatic spots, according to the Ryder Cup site. In the two avenues to qualify on Friday, he was 11th in the European points race (the top four are taken), and 18th in the world points list (the top five are selected). 

Golf Magazine

Subscribe To The Magazine

Subscribe
generic profile image

Nick Piastowski

Golf.com Editor