What is the Difference Between the Ryder Cup and Presidents Cup?

August 9, 2016

The Ryder Cup and the Presidents Cup are golf’s premier match play competitions. They both consist of similar formats, but the Ryder Cup is between the United States and Europe whereas the Presidents Cup is between the United States and an International team comprised of all other countries except Europe.

Though both championships are held every two years and each team alternates as host, the Ryder Cup is played in even-numbered years and the Presidents Cup in odd-numbered years. The Presidents Cup is also held over four days and the Ryder Cup over three. The Presidents Cup began in 1994 and was modeled after the Ryder Cup, which began in 1927.