Join INSIDEGOLF and get $100 of value for $20!


U.S. Open Sectional Qualifying: Adam Scott, Steve Stricker, Keegan Bradley among Monday’s qualifiers

June 4, 2018

The 2018 U.S. Open field became a lot clearer Monday as sectional qualifying took place all over the country, and even in other corners of the world.

Ten sites in America crowned (or will crown) qualifiers in addition to one site in England and another in Japan. The golf nerd will recognize a lot of names who competed for a shot at Shinnecock, and even the casual fan will recognize many boldfaced names.

Zac Blair was among the notable names who did not advance, coming up short at Springfield (Ohio) CC…

…while Adam Scott narrowly made it through in the Colombus, Ohio, qualifier:

One of the better story lines will appeal to hockey fans:

Below is a list of players who qualified in italics, as well as notables who competed but came up short, along with their respective finishes. Click on the site names to see live results. 

Japan Memorial GC, Miki, Japan:
Shota Akiyoshi
David Bransdon
Wenchong Liang

Walton Heath GC, Surrey, England:
Andrew (Beef) Johnston
James Morrison
Richie Ramsay
Matthew Southgate
Scott Gregory
Ryan Fox
Tom Lewis
Matthieu Pavon
Matthew Wallace
Jason Scrivener
Dean Burmester
Kristoffer Reitan (a)
Thorbjorn Olesen
Paul Waring

Notables who failed to advance:
Padraig Harrington 
Lee Westwood 
Chase Koepka 

Bear’s Club, Jupiter, Fla:
Luis Gagne (a)
Richy Werenski
Tyler Strafaci (a)

Notables who failed to advance:
Alex Cejka
Robert Allenby
Sam Saunders
Cameron Tringale

Ansley Golf Club, Roswell, Ga.:
Garrett Rank (a)
Michael Hebert
Roberto Castro

Notables who failed to advance:
Stephan Jaegar
DJ Trahan
Jason Bohn

Canoe Brook CC, Summit, N.J.:
Cameron Wilson
Calum Hill
Calum Hill
Stewart Hagestad (a)
Theo Humphrey (a)

Notables who failed to advance:
Johnson Wagner
Abraham Ancer
Jack Druga (Shinnecock Hills head professional)

Woodmont CC, Rockville, Md:
Sebastian Munoz
Timothy Wilkinson
Cole Miller (a)
Mickey DeMorat (a)

Notables who failed to advance:
Jason Gore
Billy Hurley
Julian Etulian
Steve Wheatcroft

Brookside Golf & CC/ Lakes Golf & CC, Columbus, Ohio:
Sungjae Im
Shane Lowry
Keegan Bradley
Brian Gay
Michael Putnam
Shubhankar Sharma
Russell Knox
Patrick Rodgers
William Zalatoris
Harold Varner
Ollie Schniederjans
Aaron Baddeley
Ryan Lumsden (a)
Adam Scott

Notables who failed to advance:
Stewart Cink
JJ Spaun
Kevin Streelman
Danny Lee
Brian Gay
Ted Potter Jr.
Nick Watney
Kelly Kraft
Talor Gooch
David Lingmerth
Kevin Tway
Spencer Levin
CT Pan
Grayson Murray
Robert Streb
Tom Hoge
Ryan Armour
Ryan Moore
Andrew Landry
Daniel Summerhays
Beau Hossler
Jamie Lovemark
Vijay Singh
Patton Kizzire
Curtis Luck 
Joaquin Niemann

Springfield (Ohio) CC:
Will Grimmer (a)
Dylan Meyer
Brian Stuard
Timothy Wiseman (a)
David Gazzolo

Notables who failed to advance:
James Hahn
Zac Blair
Doc Redman

Ridgeway CC/ Colonial CC, Memphis, Tenn.:
Sam Burns
Mackenzie Hughes
Steve Stricker
Braden Thornberry (a)
Lanto Griffin
Scott Stallings
Tyler Duncan
Sebastian Vazquez
Aaron Wise
Matt Jones
Eric Axley

Notables who failed to advance:
Sam Ryder
Tom Lovelady
Nick Taylor
Peter Malnati
JJ Henry
Geoff Ogilvy
Robert Garrigus
Shawn Stefani
Michael Kim
Cody Gribble
Scott Brown
Harris English
David Hearn
JB Holmes
Ken Duke
Dominic Bozzelli
Matt Every
Troy Merritt
Austin Cook
Chris Kirk 
Norman Xiong
Billy Horschel
Hunter Mahan
Scott Piercy
Wesley Bryan
Blayne Barber

Shadow Hawk GC, Richmond, Tex.:
Jacob Bergeron (a)
Philip Barbaree (a)
Chris Naegel

Notables who failed to advance:
Cameron Champ
Steven Bowditch
Matthew Wolff
Angel Cabrera

Portland GC, Portland, Ore.:
Lucas Herbert
Christopher Babcock
Sulman Raza (a)
Michael Block

Notables who failed to advance:
Andres Gonzales
Mike Weir
Gipper Finau

Lake Merced/Olympic Club, Daly City, Calif.: 
Chun An Yu (a)
Shintaro Ban (a)
Rhett Rasmussen (a)
Franklin Huang (a)
Sung Joon Park

Notables who failed to advance:
Kevin Sutherland
Max Homa