Viewer's guide: Sentry Tournament of Champions tee times, TV schedule and purse

January 1, 2019

The first event of 2019 kicks off on the Hawaiian island of Maui this week, as the winner’s-only Sentry Tournament of Champions field readies for the event’s 21st iteration at Kapalua’s Plantation course. The Top 100 You Can Play staple is scheduled to close for nine months shortly after the tournament for an enhancement overseen by Bill Coore and Ben Crenshaw.
Temperatures in the tropical paradise are forecast to top out at around 80 degrees throughout the week, but the wind is expected to blow in the 20-mph range into the weekend.
Dustin Johnson and Rory McIlroy headline the 34-man field. Only three of the 37 qualified players elected not to attend: Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Justin Rose.
As defending champ, Johnson is heavily favored this week, having won the TOC twice since 2013, including last year’s eight-shot victory. A win this week would be DJ’s 20th career Tour title, and first win since last summer’s RBC Canadian Open.
A “power hour” of top twosomes tees off between 11:40 a.m. (Patrick Reed and Jon Rahm) and 12:40 p.m. (Dustin Johnson and Bryson DeChambeau) local time on Thursday. In between, Jason Day and Francesco Molinari tee off at 11:50 a.m., Rory McIlroy and Xander Schauffele at 12 p.m., Bubba Watson and Webb Simpson at 12:10 p.m., Keegan Bradley and Brooks Koepka at 12:20 p.m., and Billy Horschel and Justin Thomas at 12:30 p.m.
Check out the full tee times, TV schedule, and purse for the Sentry Tournament of Champions below.
dustin-johnson-askalan-toc-hawaii.jpgDustin Johnson celebrates with the winner’s trophy after the final round of the 2018 Sentry Tournament of Champions.
What: Sentry Tournament of Champions
Where: Kapalua Resort’s Plantation Course, Maui, Hawaii
When: Thursday-Sunday, Jan. 3 – 6
Defending champion: Dustin Johnson (24 under)
Purse: $6.3 million ($1.26 million winner)
Thursday: 6-10 p.m. (Golf Channel)
Friday: 6-10 p.m. (Golf Channel)
Saturday: 4-6 p.m. (NBC)
Sunday: 6-10 p.m. (Golf Channel)
3 p.m. – Satoshi Kodaira, Cameron Champ
3:10 p.m. – Kevin Tway, Troy Merritt
3:20 p.m. – Matt Kuchar, Michael Kim
3:30 p.m. – Ted Potter, Jr., Scott Piercy
3:40 p.m. – Charles Howell III, Brice Garnett
3:50 p.m. – Brandt Snedeker, Ian Poulter
4 p.m. – Andrew Putnam, Andrew Landry
4:10 p.m. – Marc Leishman, Patton Kizzire
4:20 p.m. – Gary Woodland, Kevin Na
4:30 p.m. – Aaron Wise, Paul Casey
4:40 p.m. – Patrick Reed, Jon Rahm
4:50 p.m. – Jason Day, Francesco Molinari
5 p.m. – Rory McIlroy, Xander Schauffele
5:10 p.m. – Bubba Watson, Webb Simpson
5:20 p.m. – Keegan Bradley, Brooks Koepka
5:30 p.m. – Billy Horschel, Justin Thomas
5:40 p.m. – Dustin Johnson, Bryson DeChambeau
[bc_video video_id=”5982128861001″ account_id=”416418725″ player_id=”B1lrmWbebQ” embed=”in-page” padding_top=”56%” autoplay=”” min_width=”0px” max_width=”640px” width=”100%” height=”100%”]