Masters 2019: Augusta National cancels Green Jacket ceremony

April 14, 2019

AUGUSTA, Ga. — Weather permitting, there will be a Masters champion crowned on Sunday at Augusta National. The fans just won’t be around to see him slip on his green jacket.

Citing weather concerns, the Masters announced the cancellation of the traditional green jacket ceremony Sunday. The same forecast already had the club push up tee times to 7:30 a.m. off split tees, fearing thunderstorms.

“There will not be a Green Jacket Ceremony on the terrace putting green this afternoon in order to expedite gate closures,” a representative for the club wrote in an email. “Weather permitting, we will have photos with the champion on the putting green following the Butler Cabin Green Jacket presentation.”

Masters Sunday weather concerns

All week, tournament organizers have kept their eyes on the Sunday forecast. On Saturday, they made the call to switch up the traditional Sunday schedule. Rather than risk a rain-delayed afternoon and a potential Monday finish, they decided instead to go to split tees and threesomes. On-and-off rain is expected throughout the morning, with thunderstorms beginning in earnest around 2 p.m.

“There’s some weather coming in, and this is gonna be different,” Woods told CBS. “It’s gonna be a little different, going off two tees, threesomes. It doesn’t feel like Augusta National — but I remember when Jack finished up his last round here he finished up on nine, so I guess some precedent has already been set.”

Masters Tee Times: Sunday’s Final Round (ET)

Tee No. 1

7:30 a.m. ET – Aaron Wise, Marc Leishman, Si Woo Kim
7:41 a.m. ET – Matthew Fitzpatrick, Kevin Tway, Patton Kizzire
7:52 a.m. ET – Henrik Stenson, Hideki Matsuyama, Cameron Smith
8:03 a.m. ET – Jordan Spieth, Tommy Fleetwood, Corey Conners
8:14 a.m. ET – Jason Day, Bubba Watson, Lucas Bjerregaard
8:25 a.m. ET – Justin Thomas, Phil Mickelson, Jon Rahm
8:36 a.m. ET – Adam Scott, Patrick Cantlay, Thorbjorn Olesen
8:47 a.m. ET – Louis Oosthuizen, Dustin Johnson, Rickie Fowler
8:58 a.m. ET – Matt Kuchar, Justin Harding, Xander Schauffele
9:09 a.m. ET – Brooks Koepka, Webb Simpson, Ian Poulter
9:20 a.m. ET – Francesco Molinari, Tony Finau, Tiger Woods

Tee No. 10

7:30 a.m. ET – Kyle Stanley, Viktor Hovland (A), Charley Hoffman
7:41 a.m. ET – Kevin Kisner, Bryson DeChambeau, Takumi Kanaya (A)
7:52 a.m. ET – Rory McIlroy, Keegan Bradley, Gary Woodland
8:03 a.m. ET – Jimmy Walker, J. B. Holmes, Charles Howell III
8:14 a.m. ET – Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Kevin Na, Alvaro Ortiz (A)
8:25 a.m. ET – Patrick Reed, Devon Bling (A), Keith Mitchell
8:36 a.m. ET – Tyrrell Hatton, Satoshi Kodaira, Andrew Landry
8:47 a.m. ET – Bernhard Langer, Rafael Cabrera Bello, Eddie Pepperell
8:58 a.m. ET – Branden Grace, Martin Kaymer, Haotong Li
9:09 a.m. ET – Emiliano Grillo, Zach Johnson, Billy Horschel
9:20 a.m. ET – Trevor Immelman, Alex Noren

To receive GOLF’s all-new newsletters, subscribe for free here.