Here’s how to get a tee time at Bethpage Black

May 21, 2019

Bethpage Black, host of last week’s 2019 PGA Championship, is one of five golf courses at Bethpage State Park. If you’re feeling inspired by Brooks Koepka’s dominating performance, you’re in luck. Because the course is publicly owned and operated, not only is it accessible to anyone who wants to play, it will also cost a lot less than other premium public courses out there — especially if you’re a New York state resident. Oh, and it also reopens to the public this Saturday, May 25.

Here’s how to make a tee time.

First, you have to create an account that will enable you to make a tee time reservation as a New York state resident or non-resident. Click here to visit the tee time information page, and then click “Log in” in the upper right-hand corner of the screen. Enter your information and create a password for your account.

Once you’ve created an account, you can then reserve a tee time as a resident or non-resident, so click the appropriate box at the bottom of the tee time information page. You’ll be directed to a page with a calendar so you can choose your date, time and the number of players in your group. While it’s a simple process, there are certain disclaimers to remember.

The par-3 14th hole at Bethpage Black.
The par-3 14th hole at Bethpage Black.
Getty Images

New York State residents can book tee times seven days in advance starting at 7 p.m. ET for all courses, including the Black. Non-New York state residents can only book five days in advance starting at 7 p.m. ET. There is also a $5 per person reservation fee, which is payable when you claim the reservation at the golf course.

Tee times can be cancelled online up until six hours beforehand without penalty. After that, you’ll be charged a $15 per person no-show fee.

You must purchase your ticket — that is, pay your green fee — at least one hour ahead of your tee time. Whoever makes the reservation must be the first to pay, and must have ID. If three of the four players in your reserved group show up but the fourth doesn’t, you have to pay a no-show fee for the fourth.

If you are a no-show, you will be suspended from making any more tee time reservations until payment is received.

Finally, you must have a New York state driver’s license or non-driver identification card in order to obtain the resident rate. And if this doesn’t work out for you, don’t worry. You can always camp out in your car the night before — here’s more info on that. So, ready to play? Good luck!

To receive GOLF’s all-new newsletters, subscribe for free here.