Here’s how much money every player made at St. Andrews

cam smith holds up trophy

Cameron Smith, the winner of the 2022 Open Championship, walked away $2.5 million richer.

Getty Images

The Claret Jug wasn’t the only prize for Open Championship winner Cameron Smith — he’ll also walk away from the Old Course with a record-breaking paycheck.

The R&A handed out a tournament-record $14 million purse on Sunday, with $2.5 million going to the winner. That is $2.5 million more than the 2021 purse, with an extra $430,000 going in Smith’s direction.

The runner-up at the Open, Cameron Young, will also easily clear seven figures with a paycheck of $1.455 million. Third place, at $933,000, isn’t a bad consolation prize for Rory McIlroy, who suffered another major championship heartbreak on Sunday at St. Andrews.

So how much did the rest of the field make at the 2022 Open Championship? You can find a complete payout list below.

How much money every player made at the Open Championship

1. Cameron Smith, $2.5 million

2. Cameron Young, $1.455 million

3. Rory McIlroy, $933,000

T4. Tommy Fleetwood
Viktor Hovland, $654,000

T6. Brian Harman
Dustin Johnson, $469,500

T8. Bryson DeChambeau
Patrick Cantlay
Jordan Spieth, $325,667

T11. Abraham Ancer
Sadom Kaewkanjana
Dean Burmester
Tyrrell Hatton, $231,000

T15. Adam Scott
Si Woo Kim
Francesco Molinari
Anthony Quayle
Xander Schauffele
Lucas Herbert, $165,583

T21. Billy Horschel
Min Woo Lee
Trey Mullinax
Shane Lowry
Kevin Kisner
Matthew Fitzpatrick
Scottie Scheffler, $120,286

T28. Tony Finau
Corey Conners
Harold Varner III
Will Zalatoris
Dylan Frittelli
Thomas Pieters, $90,917

T34. Thomas Detry
Robert MacIntyre
Talor Gooch
Lee Westwood
Sahith Theegala
Jon Rahm
Victor Perez
Aaron Wise, $68,906

T42. Sam Burns
Jason Kokrak
Thirston Lawrence
Adrian Meronk
Chris Kirk, $51,000

T47. Garrick Higgo
Patrick Reed
Jordan Smith
Yuto Katsuragawa
Joo-Hyung Kim
(a) Filippo Celli $40,600

T53. Joaquin Niemann
Danny Willett
Robert Dinwiddie
Lars Van Meijel
Justin Thomas
Paul Casey
Jason Scrivner
Brad Kennedy
Nicolai Hojgaard, $35,656

T62. Cameron Tringale
Sebastian Muñoz
John Parry
David Carey
Ian Poulter
Russell Henley, $33,625

T68. Hideki Matsuyama
Sergio Garcia
Christian Bezuidenhout
Richard Mansell, $32,525

T72. David Law
Kurt Kitayama, $32,013

T74. Marcus Armitage
Justin De Los Santos, $31,763

T76. Wydham Clark
Adri Arnaus
(a) Aaron Jarvis, $31,513

T79. Laurie Canter
Barclay Brown, $31,325

T81. (a) Sam Bairstow
Sungjae Im, $31,200

83. Jamie Rutherford, $31,075

Zephyr Melton Editor

Zephyr Melton is an assistant editor for where he spends his days blogging, producing and editing. Prior to joining the team at GOLF, he attended the University of Texas followed by stops with the Texas Golf Association, Team USA, the Green Bay Packers and the PGA Tour. He assists on all things instruction and covers amateur and women’s golf. He can be reached at

Watch, play, win. Chirp Golf is your home for the best of real money Daily Fantasy Sports (DFS) and Free-To-Play games.

Watch, play, win

Chirp Golf is your home for the best of real money Daily Fantasy Sports (DFS) and Free-To-Play games. Featuring simple to play. easy to learn, and fun games. Chirp Golf has something for every golf fan.

Scan to Download:

Google Play Apple Store