Green jacket glory: Here are the last 20 Masters winners

Why is the Masters great? Beneath the pageantry, the golf course, the green jackets and the pimento cheese lies something that defines golf at its core: history.

Masters history and golf history are synonymous. From Jones to Snead and Nicklaus to Woods, the names that ingratiate themselves with green jackets are the same that color golf’s rich historical tapestry. From a 365-acre fruit farm to the world’s most alluring golf club, the soil of Augusta, Ga. is fertile for greatness, for champions, for history.

Just ask Danny Willett, Charl Schwartzel or Bubba Watson — a Masters triumph is a life-changing moment. Multiple Masters triumphs? Now that’s history-changing.

As we look back at those etched into recent Masters memory, it’s tempting to view each name in its own prism. In 2019, Tiger reminded us that even for those fortunate enough to repeat at Augusta, each win carries its own story. But in fact, the victories speak to a commonality. The Masters story would be incomplete without each of the names on the list below, and so too would the story of golf.

The last 20 Masters winners

2020: Dustin Johnson

2019: Tiger Woods

2018: Patrick Reed

2017: Sergio Garcia

2016: Danny Willett

2015: Jordan Spieth

2014: Bubba Watson

2013: Adam Scott

2012: Bubba Watson

2011: Charl Schwartzel

2010: Phil Mickelson

2009: Angel Cabrera

2008: Trevor Immelman

2007: Zach Johnson

2006: Phil Mickelson

2005: Tiger Woods

2004: Phil Mickelson

2003: Mike Weir

2002: Tiger Woods

2001: Tiger Woods

2000: Vijay Singh

James Colgan Editor

James Colgan is an assistant editor at GOLF, contributing stories for the website and magazine on a broad range of topics. He writes the Hot Mic, GOLF’s weekly media column, and utilizes his broadcast experience across the brand’s social media and video platforms. A 2019 graduate of Syracuse University, James — and evidently, his golf game — is still defrosting from four years in the snow, during which time he cut his teeth at NFL Films, CBS News and Fox Sports. Prior to joining GOLF, James was a caddie scholarship recipient (and astute looper) on Long Island, where he is from.