2022 Wells Fargo Championship live coverage: How to watch Round 1 on Thursday

Rory McIlroy is looking for his fourth-career Wells Fargo Championship win this week.

Maddie Meyer/Getty Images

The opening round of the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship gets underway Thursday, May 5, at TPC Potomac. Here’s what you need to know to watch Round 1 on TV or online.

Previewing Wells Fargo Championship Round 1

This year’s Wells Fargo Championship has a new home (although for this year alone). TPC Potomac at Avenel Farm in Maryland will take over hosting duties this week, giving normal host Quail Hollow a break to host the 2022 Presidents Cup.

Rory McIlroy raises arms after chipping in at 2022 Masters
2022 Wells Fargo Championship odds: Rory McIlroy returns as betting favorite
By: Kevin Cunningham

Three-time winner and defending champion Rory McIlroy is hoping he can lean on his positive memories at the Wells Fargo to try for his fourth career title, even if all of his wins came on a different course. The World No. 7 is in fine form, having finished in solo second at the Masters in his last start.

McIlroy will get his tournament started bright and early Thursday morning at 7:34 a.m. ET with playing partners Francesco Molinari and Webb Simpson. You can stream the opening round via PGA Tour Live on ESPN+, or watch the telecast on Golf Channel.


(GOLF.com may receive a commission when you sign up for ESPN+ through the link above.)

Below you will find everything you need to watch the first round of the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship.

How to watch Wells Fargo Championship Round 1 on TV

Golf Channel will air the opening round of the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship with a four-hour telecast on Thursday from 2-6 p.m. ET.

How to stream Wells Fargo Championship Round 1 online

You can stream the opening round of the 2022 Wells Fargo Championship via PGA Tour Live on ESPN+ from 6:45 a.m.-6 p.m. ET on Thursday, which includes featured group coverage. Fans can also stream the first round Golf Channel TV coverage on golfchannel.com.


(GOLF.com may receive a commission when you sign up for ESPN+ through the link above.)

How to bet on the Wells Fargo Championship

Looking to make a (legal!) wager yourself? We teamed with BetMGM, and the online sportsbook is offering a “Risk-Free Bet” up to $1000 promotion. Sign up for an account to get into the action today.

2022 Wells Fargo Championship Round 1 tee times (All times ET)

Tee No. 1

6:50 a.m. – Kevin Chappell, Jonathan Byrd, Brandon Hagy
7:01 a.m. – Ryan Armour, Brian Harman, Kramer Hickok
7:12 a.m. – Brendan Steele, John Huh, Doug Ghim
7:23 a.m. – Martin Laird, Chez Reavie, Martin Trainer
7:34 a.m. – Branden Grace, Nick Taylor, Dylan Frittelli
7:45 a.m. – Matthew Wolff, C.T. Pan, Luke Donald
7:56 a.m. – Seamus Power, K.H. Lee, Matt Jones
8:07 a.m. – Lucas Glover, Jim Herman, Zach Johnson
8:18 a.m. – Brice Garnett, Tommy Gainey, Mark Hubbard
8:29 a.m. – Johnson Wagner, Sam Ryder, Kelly Kraft
8:40 a.m. – Danny Lee, David Lingmerth, Nicholas Thompson
8:51 a.m. – Joseph Bramlett, Andrew Novak, Bryson Nimmer
9:02 a.m. – Greyson Sigg, Curtis Thompson, Jacob Bridgeman
12:10 p.m. – Morgan Hoffmann, Matthias Schwab, Hayden Buckley
12:21 p.m. – Rory Sabbatini, Adam Schenk, Taylor Moore
12:32 p.m. – Beau Hossler, Roger Sloan, Scott Gutschewski
12:43 p.m. – Luke List, Sergio Garcia, Gary Woodland
12:54 p.m. – Max Homa, Rickie Fowler, Jason Day
1:05 p.m. – Joel Dahmen, Patrick Reed, Paul Casey
1:16 p.m. – Si Woo Kim, Sung Kang, Kevin Tway
1:27 p.m. – Wesley Bryan, Vaughn Taylor, Matt Wallace
1:38 p.m. – Russell Henley, Russell Knox, Ben Martin
1:49 p.m. – Mackenzie Hughes, Peter Uihlein, Cameron Young
2:00 p.m. – Dylan Wu, David Skinns, Drew Nesbitt
2:11 p.m. – Bo Hoag, Michael Gligic, Gregory Odom, Jr.
2:22 p.m. – Kurt Kitayama, Paul Barjon, Brandon Matthews

Tee No. 10

6:50 a.m. – Troy Merritt, Jonas Blixt, Ryan Blaum
7:01 a.m. – Aaron Baddeley, Brian Stuard, Max McGreevy
7:12 a.m. – Camilo Villegas, Anirban Lahiri, Henrik Norlander
7:23 a.m. – Sepp Straka, Tony Finau, Tyrrell Hatton
7:34 a.m. – Rory McIlroy, Webb Simpson, Francesco Molinari
7:45 a.m. – Abraham Ancer, Marc Leishman, Corey Conners
7:56 a.m. – Lanto Griffin, J.T. Poston, Keegan Bradley
8:07 a.m. – Scott Piercy, Charl Schwartzel, Matt Fitzpatrick
8:18 a.m. – Denny McCarthy, Aaron Rai, Lee Hodges
8:29 a.m. – Andrew Putnam, Satoshi Kodaira, Nick Watney
8:40 a.m. – Dawie van der Walt, Justin Lower, Callum Tarren
8:51 a.m. – Seth Reeves, Jared Wolfe, Larkin Gross
9:02 a.m. – Adam Svensson, Brett Drewitt, Turk Pettit
12:10 p.m. – Chesson Hadley, Trey Mullinax, Alex Smalley
12:21 p.m. – Austin Cook, Bo Van Pelt, Hank Lebioda
12:32 p.m. – Peter Malnati, Kevin Streelman, Vince Whaley
12:43 p.m. – Michael Thompson, Keith Mitchell, Charley Hoffman
12:54 p.m. – Chad Ramey, Nate Lashley, Adam Long
1:05 p.m. – Tyler Duncan, Matt Kuchar, William McGirt
1:16 p.m. – Cam Davis, Stewart Cink, Richy Werenski
1:27 p.m. – Jhonattan Vegas, Cameron Percy, Harry Higgs
1:38 p.m. – James Hahn, Bill Haas, Doc Redman
1:49 p.m. – Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Matthew NeSmith, Stephan Jaeger
2:00 p.m. – Chase Seiffert, Jim Knous, Joshua Creel
2:11 p.m. – Ben Kohles, Austin Smotherman, Norman Xiong
2:22 p.m. – David Lipsky, Brandon Wu, Eugenio Chacarra

Kevin Cunningham

Kevin Cunningham

Golf.com Editor

As managing producer for GOLF.com, Cunningham edits, writes and publishes stories on GOLF.com, and manages the brand’s e-newsletters, which reach more than 1.4 million subscribers each month. A former two-time intern, he also helps keep GOLF.com humming outside the news-breaking stories and service content provided by our reporters and writers, and works with the tech team in the development of new products and innovative ways to deliver an engaging site to our audience.