2019 U.S. Open sectional qualifying: sites, live scores, notables competing

June 3, 2019


The 2019 U.S. Open field begins to take its final shape today as sectional qualifiers take place across the country. What began with more than 8,600 entrants was whittled down to 927 players in 12 sectionals.

While many pros already have spots in the field through various exemptions, roughly 70 players will need to get through sectional qualifying to complete the field of 156 and snag a tee time at Pebble Beach next week. In order to get there, players must play 36 holes of golf and score well enough to beat most of the field at their sectional. One bad round — even one bad hole — likely could keep someone from advancing.

Below is a list of players who qualified at each site, with the leading score included in parenthesis, as well as notables who failed to make the cut. Click on the site names to see live results.

Walton Heath Golf Club, Surrey, England:
110 participants, 14 qualifying spots

Dean Burmester (-16)
Sam Horsfield
Marcus Fraser
Clement Sordet
Matthieu Pavon
Lee Slattery
Marcus Kinhult
Rhys Enoch
Adri Arnaus
Justin Walters
Daniel Hillier
Thomas Pieters
Merrick Bremner

Renato Paratore (-7)

Notables who failed to advance:
Lee Westwood (-4)
Andrew Johnston (-3)
Edoardo Molinari (-3)
Ross Fisher (-2)
Andy Sullivan (WD)

Rattlesnake Pointe Golf Club, Milton, Ontario, Canada:
38 participants, 4 qualifying spots

Tom Hoge (-5)
Sepp Straka
Alex Prugh (-4)

Notables who failed to advance:
Harris English (-4, first alternate)
Ryan Palmer (WD)
Austin Cook (+2)
Ricky Barnes (+4)
Brandon Hagy (WD)
Sang Moon Bae (WD)
Dylan Frittelli (E)
Harris English (-4)
Hudson Swafford (E)
Padraig Harrington (-2)
Ben Crane (WD)

Big Canyon CC & Newport Beach CC:
99 participants, 5 qualifying spots

Chun An Yu (a) (-12)
Hayden Shieh
Richard Lee
Stewart Hagestad (a)
Andreas Halvorsen (-9)

Notables who failed to advance:
Justin Suh (-2)
Cameron Tringale (-3)

Streamsong Resort, Streamsong, Fla.:
56 participants, 3 qualifying spots

Callum Tarren (-14)
Luis Gagne (a)
Guillermo Pereira (-11)

Hawks Ridge GC, Ball Ground, Ga.:
67 participants, 4 qualifying spots

Ollie Schniederjans (-11)
Noah Norton (a) (-11)
Chandler Eaton (a)
Robert Castro (-9)

Notables who failed to advance:
Brendon De Jonge (-4)
DJ Trahan (-2)

Woodmont CC, Rockville, Md.:
63 participants, 4 qualifying spots

Billy Hurley III (-3)
Connor Arendell (-3)
Joseph Bramlett
Ryan Sullivan (-2)

Notables who failed to advance:
Erik Compton (WD)
Vaughn Taylor (WD)
Daniel Summerhays (+6)

Century CC & Old Oaks CC, Purchase, N.Y.:
73 participants, 4 qualifying spots

Cameron Young (-4)
Matt Parziale
Andy Pope
Rob Oppenheim (-2)

Notables who failed to advance:
Jim Herman (+5)
Kelly Kraft (+2, first alternate)
JJ Henry (+5)
Gary Nicklaus (+9)
Johnson Wagner (+11)

Brookside Golf and CC & Scioto CC, Columbus, Ohio:
121 participants, 14 qualifying spots

Luke Guthrie (-11)
Anirban Lahiri
Sam Saunders
Jhonattan Vegas
Rory Sabbatini
Jason Dufner
Chesson Hadley
Erik Van Rooyen
Luke Donald
Aaron Baddeley
Brandon Wu (a)
Ryan Fox
Collin Morikawa
Kyoung-Hoon Lee (-7)

Notables who failed to advance:
Cameron Champ (-4)
Max Homa (E)
Rod Pampling (+2)
Matt Every (WD)
Julian Suri (E)
Ryan Armour (-4)
Nick Watney (+2)
Scott Piercy (-4)
Jonas Blixt (+2)
Steve Stricker (-1)
Brendan Steele (WD)
Kevin Streelman (WD)
Jason Kokrak (WD)
Danny Lee (-3)
Maverick McNealy (+3)
JJ Spaun (WD)
Martin Trainer (WD)
Pat Perez (WD)
Robert Streb (+4)
Ted Potter Jr. (E)
Beau Hossler (+4)
Kevin Tway (-4)
Shubhankar Sharma (-2)
Bill Haas (E)
JT Poston (+2)
Joel Dahmen (-4, first alternate)
Russell Henley (-1)
David Lingmerth (WD)
Morgan Hoffmann (-3)
Peter Uihlein (-3)
Joaquin Niemann (-3)
Harold Varner (-3)
Ryan Moore (-3)
Charley Hoffman (-1)

Springfield CC, Springfield, Ohio:
73 participants, 5 qualifying spots

Zac Blair (-6)
Chip McDaniel
Brian Stuard
Nick Hardy(-6)
2 for 1 playoff (Brian Drewitt, Joo-Young Lee) (-4)

Notables who failed to advance:
Corey Conners (+2)
Troy Merritt (-1)
Dylan Meyer (+3)

Wine Valley GC, Walla Walla, Wash.:
55 participants, 3 qualifying spots

Eric Dietrich (-11)
Matthew Naumec
Spencer Tibbits (a) (-7)

Notables competing:
Kevin Stadler (+1)

Bent Tree CC & Northwood Club, Dallas, Texas (May 20):

Brendon Todd  (-10)
Nick Taylor (-10)
Carlos Ortiz
Julian Etulain
Scottie Scheffler
Mike Weir
Brian Davis
Matthew Jones
Charles Danielson
Austin Eckroat (a) (-4)

Notables who failed to advance:
Brian Harman (-3)
Andrew Landry (+3)
Shane Bacon (+9)

Kuwana Country Club, Mie Prefecture, Japan (May 27):

Kodai Ichihara (-13)
Shugo Imahira
Mikumo Horikawa (-11)

Notables who failed to advance:
Jazz Janewattananond (WD)