Was Jordan Spieth’s rules DQ justified? Or just silly? Some thoughts

Jordan Spieth

Jordan Spieth on Friday on the 9th hole at Riviera Country Club.

Getty Images

Jordan Spieth? He understood. Or at least his social media accounts did. 

A couple of hours earlier on Friday, he’d been booted from the Genesis Invitational after signing an incorrect scorecard following his second round. On Riviera’s 4th hole, he had made a four, but he signed for a three. For Spieth, it was unfortunate. But he took the blame via his X and Instagram accounts.

“Today, I signed for an incorrect scorecard and stepped out of the scoring area, after thinking I went through all procedures to make sure it was correct. Rules are rules, and I take full responsibility. I love this tournament and golf course as much as any on @PGATOUR so it hurts to not have a run at the weekend. Really appreciated the support in LA @thegenesisinv @thegenesisinv.”

But that was but one opinion. 

As the news arrived, the takes followed, and we collected a few. As a service. You probably have your own thoughts, but it doesn’t hurt to keep an open mind to things. At the least, it could help your argument. (For what it’s worth, the author will opine at the end of this piece.) 

To begin, though, here’s how the rule partially reads:

“If the player returns a scorecard with a wrong score for any hole: Returned Score Higher Than Actual Score. The higher returned score for the hole stands. Returned Score Lower Than Actual Score or No Score Returned. The player is disqualified.”

On to the thoughts.

What actually happens in the scoring tent:

From other pros:

From a caddie:

From Mike McGee, Annika Sorenstam’s husband:

‘There’s a reason why players sign a scorecard’ 

‘Here is a mild defense of the scorecard rule’

‘Why are we testing the players …’

An observation:

And some humor:

From the author:

Rule’s a rule. But the tech is there. Have it clearly available for the pro to use when the scorecard is signed.   

Nick Piastowski

Nick Piastowski

Golf.com Editor

Nick Piastowski is a Senior Editor at Golf.com and Golf Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and developing stories across the golf space. And when he’s not writing about ways to hit the golf ball farther and straighter, the Milwaukee native is probably playing the game, hitting the ball left, right and short, and drinking a cold beer to wash away his score. You can reach out to him about any of these topics — his stories, his game or his beers — at nick.piastowski@golf.com.