Rules Guy: Is it legal to play a shot croquet-style from off the green?
I know putting croquet-style is illegal, but what about elsewhere? My friend’s ball was up against a tree. I thought he was going to backhand it back into play; instead, he straddled his target line and hit it between his legs. We were just playing for fun, but was this legal? —RICHARD JOHNS, VIA E-MAIL
Well, prior to the start of 2019, it was legal — but, alas and alack, not anymore. The most recent Rules changes rendered the croquet-style shot verboten anywhere on the field of play, per Rule 10.1c, and any “tweeners” will cost you the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play. Would-be Steph Currys, save the between-the-legs move for the court, not the course.
Got a rules question? Of course you do! Whatever it may be, send yours to firstname.lastname@example.org and the question may be answered in an upcoming issue of GOLF. Until then, play by the Rules!