The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
I have a question about how Rules 15.1 and 8.1a(2) possibly work together. Rule 15.1 allows you to move loose impediments, basically in any manner so long as your ball doesn’t move. It does not say it is limited by any other rules, so, on its face, 15.1 seems to allow moving of loose impediments in any manner — even in a manner that improves the condition of your stroke. But 8.1a(2) says you cannot move a loose impediment if it improves the condition affecting your stroke (i.e., lie, stance, line, swing). What are the scenarios that 8.1a(2) limits? Rule 15.1 and 15.2 seem to indicate you can move tree bark or leaves so long as you don’t move the ball, even if it improves your lie or stroke; 8.1a(2) seems to indicate you cannot. —David Wallace, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.
David, you are a gentleman and a scholar. Under better circumstances, we could discuss this over a brandy. Alas, we must make do on paper.
Essentially, 8.1a(2) limits building a stance — that’s the only reasonable example we can think of. You are allowed to move loose impediments in any way, but 15.1 does not say to any place…. “In any way” means using your hand, a hat, a towel, a rake, a leaf blower, what have you, but that does not give you the right to create new and improved conditions for yourself, such as a level stance.
For more loose-impediment guidance from our guru, read on …
Rules Guy: What’s the legal way to remove loose impediments like pebbles or gravel?By: Rules Guy
My ball landed close to a water penalty area where I had a very limited stance. There was a large tree stump at the edge of the water that I could stand on with one foot. Is it allowable to move the stump so that I can have both feet on the stump, or is that building a stance? —Randy Lavery, St. Augustine, Fla.
Rules Guy is a little, well, stumped: “Stump” doesn’t seem like the right word for something so easily moved.
Regardless, no, you aren’t allowed to move loose impediments into position to assist with your stance. That would be, as you noted, building a stance and in breach of Rule 8.1a(2), incurring the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play and loss of hole in match play.
Had you realized that error before making the stroke you could undo the breach and move the … large piece of wood … back out of position and avoid penalty.
Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a club-fitting location near you at True Spec Golf.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.