Join INSIDEGOLF and get $100 of value for $20!


Rules Guy: Is it permissible to hold a club in one hand while taking a stroke with the other?

February 4, 2020

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

A guy in our foursome took both his wedge and putter to his ball in the fringe. Instead of dropping a club after making his choice, he hit a one-handed chip while leaning on his putter with his free hand. Legal?

He sounds like one very relaxed fellow, and there is no penalty if indeed this is just a casual act. If, however, he intended to assist his play, that incurs the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play under Rule 4.3.

A discreet inquiry as to the player’s motivation — laziness or crutch — should provide the necessary insight.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Want more Rules Guy?
Rules Guy: Are you allowed to walk up and watch the group ahead putt?
Rules Guy: What do you do when several balls deflect off each other?
Rules Guy: Can you check a bunker’s depth with a tee?