Incorrect U.S. Open ruling did not benefit Rory McIlroy. But what if it had?

rory mcilroy getting ruling at us open

Rory McIlroy receiving a ruling on the 14th hole in the fourth round of the U.S. Open earlier this month.

getty images

Josh Sens

A golf, food and travel writer, Josh Sens has been a GOLF Magazine contributor since 2004 and now contributes across all of GOLF’s platforms. His work has been anthologized in The Best American Sportswriting. He is also the co-author, with Sammy Hagar, of Are We Having Any Fun Yet: the Cooking and Partying Handbook.