x
Skip to main content
Golf Logo
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
Our most-read rules question of the year involved an intriguing hole-in-one conundrum
SHARE
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
Golf Logo
  • News
    • Latest
      • News
      • Features
      • Shows
      • PGA Tour Schedule
    • Series
      • Tour Confidential
      • Monday Finish
      • Hot Mic
      • Rogers Report
    • Shows
      • The Scoop
      • Subpar
      • Seen & Heard
  • Instruction
    • Game Improvement
      • Driving
      • Approach Shots
      • Bunker Shots
      • Short Game
      • Putting
      • Rules
      • Fitness
    • Series
      • Top 100 Teachers
      • Rules Guy
      • The Etiquetteist
    • Shows
      • Warming Up
      • Play Smart
      • Short Game Chef
      • Pros Teaching Joes
  • Gear
    • Clubs
      • Drivers
      • Irons
      • Hybrids
      • Fairway Woods
      • Wedges
      • Putters
    • Other Gear
      • Balls
      • Shoes
      • Apparel
      • Golf Accessories
    • Series
      • ClubTest
      • Winner’s Bag
    • Shows
      • Fully Equipped
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • Travel
      • Course Finder
      • Courses
      • Resorts
    • Lifestyle
      • Accessories
      • Celebrities
      • Food
      • Style
      • Betting Advice
    • Shows
      • Super Secrets
      • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Shop
      • Clubs
      • Shafts
      • Training Aids
      • Balls
      • Bags
      • Technology
      • Apparel
      • Accessories
      • Our Picks
      • Shop All
    • Collections
      • The GOLF Collection
      • The Birdie Juice Collection
      • The Fully Equipped Collection
      • Shop All
  • Newsletters
    • Sign Up for GOLF’s Newsletters
      • Hot Mic
      • Monday Finish
      • Play Smart
      • Our Picks
      • Top Stories
      • Sign Up for All
  • News
    • Latest News
    • Features
    • Shows
    • PGA Tour Schedule
  • Instruction
    • All Instruction
    • Driving
    • Approach Shots
    • Bunker Shots
    • Short Game
    • Putting
    • Rules
    • Fitness
  • Gear
    • All Gear
    • Drivers
    • Irons
    • Hybrids
    • Fairway Woods
    • Wedges
    • Putters
    • Balls
    • Shoes
    • Apparel
    • Golf Accessories
  • Travel & Lifestyle
    • All Travel
    • All Lifestyle
    • Course Finder
    • Courses
    • Resorts
    • Accessories
    • Celebrities
    • Food
    • Style
    • Betting Advice
  • Series
    • Tour Confidential
    • Monday Finish
    • Hot Mic
    • Rogers Report
    • Rules Guy
    • The Etiquetteist
    • ClubTest
    • Winner’s Bag
  • Shows
    • The Scoop
    • Subpar
    • Seen & Heard
    • Warming Up
    • Play Smart
    • Short Game Chef
    • Pros Teaching Joes
    • Fully Equipped
    • Super Secrets
    • Destination Golf
  • Shop
    • Clubs
    • Shafts
    • Training Aids
    • Balls
    • Bags
    • Technology
    • Apparel
    • Accessories
    • The GOLF Collection
    • The Birdie Juice Collection
    • The Fully Equipped Collection
  • Newsletters
    • Hot Mic
    • Monday Finish
    • Play Smart
    • Top Stories
    • Our Picks
    • Sign Up for All
InsideGolf Join Now  / Log In
InsideGolf
Rules

Our most-read rules question of the year involved an intriguing hole-in-one conundrum

By: Jessica Marksbury
  • Follow on Twitter
  • Follow on Instagram
December 26, 2023
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on Twitter
  • Share by Email
A golfer celebrating his shot with a dramatic sky behind.

Rules Guy made the call on an intriguing hole-in-one question this year.

Getty Images

Is it or isn’t it?

That’s the crux of the issue in this year’s most-read Rules Guy column, which involved a question about golf’s holy grail, the hole-in-one.

Rules Guy has made a call on many hole-in-one inquiries in his day, from whether or not a shot that bounces off a rake counts as an ace to questions about one-shotters that go in on modified holes.

But this year’s query was of particular interest to readers because of some very specific circumstances. Rather than knocking his shot in the cup himself, Ken Skolny’s email asked for a ruling when a playing partner’s shot collides with a ball at rest on the green on a par-3, causing that ball to roll into the hole. Is it an ace?

Hmmm. Think you know the answer? Enjoy revisiting the details of Ken’s situation below, which was originally published on May 23, 2023. (You can read it in its original form here.)

The most-read rules question of 2023

While playing a par-3, the first player’s ball stopped about a foot from the hole. The third player’s shot from the tee hit the first ball into the hole. Not sure what the call is. Two good shots, by the way! —Ken Skolny, via email

Those are some fine players you’re surrounding yourself with, Ken. But what happened with the second player’s shot? Was it yours? Ace, or duck-hook out-of-bounds? Inquiring minds want to know!

Regardless, the first ball is replaced back to where it was and the other ball is played as it lies — with no penalty to either, obviously — under Rules 9.6 and 11.1. Keep hanging out with such super sticks, as it may rub off on you!

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

The Prism

The Prism

From the six brand new colors to the many added features, The Prism is the best looking and most feature packed golf rangefinder we have ever created!
$229.99 (was $329.99) from Fairway Jockey
View Product

Latest In Instruction

2 hours ago

Struggling with short pitch shots? Try this top teacher's simple keys

8 hours ago

The 4 driving essentials you need to hit the ball farther

23 hours ago

Amateurs don’t realize this mistake, Top 100 teacher says. And it bothers him

24 hours ago

3 ball-striking drills every golfer needs to do after a long break

Golf.com Editor

As a four-year member of Columbia’s inaugural class of female varsity golfers, Jessica can out-birdie everyone on the masthead. She can out-hustle them in the office, too, where she’s primarily responsible for producing both print and online features, and overseeing major special projects, such as GOLF’s inaugural Style Is­sue, which debuted in February 2018. Her origi­nal interview series, “A Round With,” debuted in November of 2015, and appeared in both in the magazine and in video form on GOLF.com.

  • Author Twitter Account
  • Author Instagram Account

Related Articles

Rules
golf ball washer on a golf course

Rules Guy: Can you take free swing relief from a ball washer?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
A long and winding golf cart path

Rules Guy: My ball rolled 100 yards backward on a cart path. Can I replace it where it landed?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball sliced in half

Rules Guy: I hit a ball that was sliced in half by a mower. What now?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
New golf clubs on white isolated background

Rules Guy: Is it against the rules to use a weighted club?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Alligator in water

Rules Guy: My ball landed in a water hazard .. on an alligator. What now ?!

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Golfers talking in a circle on course

Rules Guy: Is it a penalty if you give the wrong information about which stroke you're on?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
man replacing ball

Rules Guy: When replacing your ball from off the green, can you intentionally line it up?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
golf ball on edge of hole

Rules Guy: How long can you wait for a ball to drop in the hole in match play?

By: Rules Guy
Rules
Is it permissible to play a full round of golf using a rubber tee from the driving range? Rules Guy has the answer.

Rules Guy: Is it legal to play a round using a rubber driving-range tee?

By: Rules Guy
Sign up for GOLF's Newsletters
Get the latest news, the hottest instruction tips, new product releases, golf media insider reports and more delivered directly to your inbox. Choose your favorites now.
Sign Up
Categories
  • News
  • Instruction
  • Gear
  • Lifestyle
  • Travel
Services
  • Masthead
  • GOLF Media Kit
  • GOLF Magazine Customer Service
  • TERMS OF SERVICE
  • PRIVACY POLICY
  • Opt-out of Ads/Sharing
  • Your Privacy Choices
Social
  • facebook
  • x
  • instagram
  • youtube
Membership
InsideGOLF Logo
More than $140 Value for JUST $39.99

INCLUDES 12 SRIXON Z-STAR XV GOLF BALLS, 1 YR OF GOLF MAGAZINE, $20 FAIRWAY JOCKEY CREDIT - AND MUCH MORE!

LEARN MORE

© 2025 EB Golf Media LLC. An 8AM Golf Affiliated Brand. All Rights Reserved. All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.

Go to mobile version