Rules Guy: Is it legal to use a metronome between shots?
The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.
I have a metronome device that I use during my practice sessions. Can I use it during a round before making a shot — say, walking to my ball or between holes or waiting for my turn to putt — but not during the stroke? It looks to me like Rule 4.3(a) doesn’t specifically prohibit that type of use. But, of course, I want to be sure.
—Maurice Levert, Courtenay, B.C., Canada
As it happens, Rules Guy has a metronome device that he uses during practice typing sessions — and yet the column still comes in fits and starts. Draw your own conclusion.
To your question: If the metronome is there to help your play (and, sorry, as purely background music it leaves much to be desired), it’s indeed a rules breach no matter whether it’s during or in between strokes.
It’s a tiered punishment, with the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for the first breach, followed by disqualification for a second offense. Tsk … tsk … tsk … tsk.
Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from our sister company Golf Logix.
Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to email@example.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.