Rules Guy: Is it legal to accept a cart ride to a tee during a tournament?

players in golf cart

Is it permissible to accept a ride in a cart during a tournament?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

A mate of mine was playing in a competition final. The rules stated that golf buggies were only allowed if a doctor’s note was provided. After finishing out on a green, my mate’s playing partner, who had approval for using a buggy, offered him a lift to the next tee, which was quite a long walk. He accepted — and was later reported and disqualified. Your opinion, please. —John Higgins, via email

Ball on tee
Rules Guy: Can I use a mark on my ball to help line up my tee shots?
By: Rules Guy

I’m going to go out on a limb here, John, and guess that you’re from across the pond.

Regardless, the rules are clear, in this case, Model Local Rule G-6. Your mate’s penalty should not have been disqualification but rather the general penalty of two strokes in stroke play or loss of hole in match play for each breach, with the penalty applied to the hole following, not preceding, the offending lift.

The Committee in charge bollixed the decision, bigly.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

All of our market picks are independently selected and curated by the editorial team. If you buy a linked product, GOLF.COM may earn a fee. Pricing may vary.

generic profile image

Golf.com