Rules Guy: Can I use impact tape during a round?

Are you allowed to use impact tape during a round?

Getty Images

The Rules of Golf are tricky! Thankfully, we’ve got the guru. Our Rules Guy knows the book front to back. Got a question? He’s got all the answers.

Would it be illegal to use impact tape during a round? —Mike King, Raleigh, N.C.

Yes, under Rule 4.1(a), this external attachment renders the club nonconforming. A sticky situation, indeed.

Abraham Ancer
‘That $200,000 camera zoomed in:’ Abe Ancer’s caddie weighs in on Masters rules snag
By: Nick Piastowski

Once you’ve made a stroke with the taped club, you’re disqualified — even if it’s an off-center hit.

Need help unriddling the greens at your home course? Pick up a custom Green Book from our sister company Golf Logix.

Got a question about the Rules? Ask the Rules Guy! Send your queries, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise he won’t throw the book at you.

Golf Magazine

Subscribe To The Magazine

Subscribe
generic profile image
Golf.com