InsideGOLF instantly pays for itself
Learn MoreGolf is a game of honor, one that prides itself on the players’ ability to self-police. Not every player upholds those values, but on Friday during the second round of the 2020 PGA Championship, Rory McIlroy proved he’s a cut above the rest.
Here’s what happened: After hitting his ball in the right rough on the par-3 3rd hole, the camera crew following Tiger Woods, Justin Thomas and McIlroy’s feature group advanced up the hole. Along the way, an on-course ESPN reporter accidentally stepped on Rory’s ball.
Some players would consider this great news. The USGA’s most recent rule changes means the player has a free pass under rule 7.4 to replace their ball based on an “estimate” of where it was initially.
It’s an important rule for your own sake when you’re out on the course…
New Rule: Under Rule 7.4, if a player accidentally moves his or her ball while searching for it:
A rules official came over and pointed to an area where Rory could put his ball. So he did, except something wasn’t quite right. He thought the lie was too good, and not where he thought the ball would’ve ended up.
“I don’t think it was as visible as that,” he said.
It wouldn’t have been fair to play his ball from a lie that good, so he asked for a worse lie — which he got.
He played his shot — it was a tough one — and it resulted in a bogey. Golf fans praised Rory’s classy actions and he instantly rose even higher in their estimations.
Class act: reporter accidentally stepped on @McIlroyRory’s ball in 3rd green search, official Mark Dusbabek allows him to place, Rory isn’t comfortable with the lie because it’s too good. Resets it lower in rough. Makes bogey. @PGAChampionship pic.twitter.com/C8xXOXFSmu
— Geoff Shackelford (@GeoffShac) August 7, 2020
"I don't think it was as visible as that."
— Kendall Baker (@kendallbaker) August 7, 2020
After his ball was accidentally stepped on, Rory McIlroy made sure he didn't get a better lie than he felt he originally had. That's class.
Golf, man. pic.twitter.com/qz1x4VHqW9
‘I don’t think it was as visible as that’. Class from Rory as he asks for a worse lie #integrity @NoLayingUp pic.twitter.com/LoahXXlwir
— Blue Shirt Distin (@blueshirtdistin) August 7, 2020
Rory is absolute class. Announcer steps on his ball. When he replaced it, he admitted to not being comfortable with hitting that good of lie, so he placed it a little further in the rough
— Jeremy (@jerm_pharmd) August 7, 2020
Sorry, he placed it and deliberately gave himself a bad lie out of fairness. It’s a bogey but I’m all for good guy rory ✅
— Rory McIlroy Tracker (@RMTracker) August 7, 2020
Golf.com Contributor
Luke Kerr-Dineen is the Game Improvement Editor at GOLF Magazine and GOLF.com. In his role he oversees the brand’s game improvement content spanning instruction, equipment, health and fitness, across all of GOLF’s multimedia platforms.
An alumni of the International Junior Golf Academy and the University of South Carolina–Beaufort golf team, where he helped them to No. 1 in the national NAIA rankings, Luke moved to New York in 2012 to pursue his Masters degree in Journalism from Columbia University. His work has also appeared in USA Today, Golf Digest, Newsweek and The Daily Beast.