Women’s PGA contender dinged with penalty for marking ball off green

Mel Reid of England and her caddie walk the first fairway during the third round of the KPMG Women's PGA Championship at Baltusrol Golf Club on June 24, 2023 in Springfield, New Jersey.

Mel Reid made an unfortunate mistake Saturday at Baltusrol.

Getty Images

Mel Reid began Saturday at the KPMG Women’s PGA Championship just a shot out of the lead, but after bogeys at 1 and 4, she needed to stop the bleeding at the 5th.

Then she made a regrettable error.

Reid was hit with a one-shot penalty during the third round at Baltusrol Golf Club’s Lower Course for marking her ball while off the putting green on No. 5.

The PGA issued a statement clarifying Reid’s ruling.

“During play of the 5th hole, Reid’s second shot came to rest near the back left of #5 green approximately four inches from the putting green, on the collar,” the statement said. “Reid did not realize that the ball was not on the putting green and marked, lifted, cleaned and replaced her ball. She then called for a Referee who confirmed that the ball was not on the putting green.”

Under Rule 9.4b, “If the player lifts or deliberately touches their ball at rest or causes it to move, the player gets one penalty stroke.”

The penalty resulted in a third bogey of the day for Reid and her slide continued into the back nine after she made three more to fall to six over for the day through 14 holes and eight shots off the pace of Leona Maguire and Jenny Shin.

The ruling has already proved somewhat controversial. Two-time major champion Brittany Lincicome, who missed the cut this week, tweeted the line between the fringe and green on the hole was a “joke” and she was “scared” to mark her ball in that area during the first two rounds.

Jack Hirsh

Golf.com Editor

Jack Hirsh is an assistant editor at GOLF. A Pennsylvania native, Jack is a 2020 graduate of Penn State University, earning degrees in broadcast journalism and political science. He was captain of his high school golf team and recently returned to the program to serve as head coach. Jack also still *tries* to remain competitive in local amateurs. Before joining GOLF, Jack spent two years working at a TV station in Bend, Oregon, primarily as a Multimedia Journalist/reporter, but also producing, anchoring and even presenting the weather. He can be reached at jack.hirsh@golf.com.