Sponsor’s exemption disqualified from Arnold Palmer Invitational after signing incorrect scorecard

Kamaiu Johnson hits a shot

Kamaiu Johnson was disqualified from the Arnold Palmer Invitational after signing an incorrect scorecard after his second round on Friday.

Getty Images

Kamaiu Johnson wouldn’t have played the weekend at the Arnold Palmer Invitational anyway, but now the 29-year-old pro’s week ends with a DQ next to his name.

Johnson, an accomplished APGA Tour player, received a sponsor’s exemption into the field at Bay Hill and shot rounds of 75 and 77. But according to Ryan French, who runs the Monday Q Info Twitter handle, there was confusion surrounding Johnson’s score on the 9th hole on Friday, which ultimately led to his disqualification.

According to French, Johnson made a triple-bogey 7 but signed for a 6.

Nick Hardy and Kyle Westmoreland were the other two players in the threesome. According to Hardy, who spoke to French, the group was put on the clock earlier in the round, so Hardy and Westmoreland finished the 9th and left the green for the 10th tee before Johnson had finished. Hardy watched Johnson miss a 22-footer for par before leaving.

Johnson had 3 feet, 3 inches remaining for bogey, but he three-putted from there for a 7.

According to French, “Hardy said the walking scorer noted a scoring discrepancy on the hole. Both the walking scorer and a rules official who was following the group because of the pace of play stated they thought Johnson had made a 7. ShotLink also had Johnson down for a 7. According to Hardy, Johnson insisted he made a 6.”

Hardy told French that the Tour informed him a video review confirmed Johnson’s 7, leading to Johnson’s DQ for signing an incorrect scorecard.

Johnson replied to French’s tweet on Saturday morning.

“I take the integrity of the game very seriously and I’m sorry this happened,” he said. “I got a little overwhelmed in the moment with the group on the clock and lost count of my missed putts from from (sic) 3 feet. I’ll do better.”

Johnson has played in five career PGA Tour events, missing the cut three times in 2021 and once last year.

Exit mobile version