United States, Great Britain & Ireland Walker Cup Teams Finalized

August 23, 2015

FAR HILLS, N.J. (AP) Oklahoma State senior Jordan Niebrugge was among five players added to the U.S. team for the Walker Cup next month in England.

Niebrugge tied for sixth and was low amateur at the British Open at St. Andrews. Also added to the American team were mid-amateurs Scott Harvey and Mike McCoy, along with Denny McCarthy and Robby Shelton. Niebrugge is the only returning player from the 2013 matches against Great Britain and Ireland.

They join five players previously selected—U.S. Amateur and NCAA champion Bryson DeChambeau, Maverick McNealey, Hunter Stewart, Beau Hossler and Lee McCoy. Matt NeSmith and Scott Scheffler were selected as alternates.

The Great Britain & Ireland team was also completed, and the final roster features a record five players from Ireland. Highlighted by 22-year-old Paul Dunne, who led the British Open at St. Andrews after 54 holes, the squad also includes Irishmen Jack Hume, Gavin Moynihan, Gary Hurley (who caddied for Dunne at the U.S. Amateur) and Cormac Sharvin. The remaining team members are Ashley Chesters, Grant Forrest, Sam Horsfield, Jack McDonald and Jimmy Mullen. Ewen Ferguson and Bradley Moore are the two alternates.

The Walker Cup is Sept. 12-13 at Royal Lytham & St. Annes. The U.S. won in 2013 and leads the series 35-8-1.

For more news that golfers everywhere are talking about, follow @golf_com on Twitter, like us on Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube video channel.