Watch Hogan Award ceremony live: Best men’s college golfer to be honored Monday

From left: Vanderbilt junior Gordon Sargent, Auburn freshman Jackson Koivun, Georgia Tech senior Christo Lamprecht.

From left: Vanderbilt junior Gordon Sargent, Auburn freshman Jackson Koivun and Georgia Tech senior Christo Lamprecht.

getty images

Scottie Scheffler and Nelly Korda have established themselves as the best players in the professional game.

But who is the top dog at the men’s collegiate level?

On Monday evening (yes, today!), that answer will come into focus with the presentation of the Ben Hogan Award , which is annually given to the best male college player over a 12-month period from NCAA Division I, II or III, or the NAIA or NJCAA; the selection committee is comprised of more than 30 leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf.

The three Division I finalists are Auburn freshman Jackson Koivun, Georgia Tech senior Christo Lamprecht and Vanderbilt junior Gordon Sargent.

You cqn watch the ceremony live from Colonial CC in Ft. Worth, Texas, beginning at 7 p.m. ET Monday in the YouTube embed here:

Last fall, Sargent, who is second in the World Amateur Golf Ranking, became the first player to earn his PGA Tour card through the Tour’s new University Accelerated program; he also was the low amateur at the 2023 U.S. Open, where he finished 39th.

Lamprecht, winner of the 2023 U.S. Amateur, sits atop the World Amateur ranking; the 6-foot-8 South African finished as the low amateur at the Open Championship last summer.

Koivun, who is 4th in the World Amateur ranking, has nine top-5 finishes in 11 college tournaments this year, including a win at the SEC Championship. He is the first-ever Hogan Award finalist from Auburn.

The winner of the award will be announced Monday evening at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, the host site of this week’s PGA Tour event, the Charles Schwab Challenge.

Previous recipients of the Hogan Award, which was started in 1990, cumulatively have won 66 PGA Tour titles and more than $400 million in Tour prize money. Ludvig Åberg won the award in both 2022 and ’23; other past winners include Viktor Hovland (2019), Jon Rahm (2015 and ’16), Patrick Cantlay (2012) and Rickie Fowler (2008).  

To watch a live stream of the event, click here, or view the YouTube player in the embed above. The ceremony will begin at 7 p.m. today.

Exit mobile version