Ryder Cup: Padraig Harrington, Thomas Bjorn and Paul Lawrie Name Vice Captains

May 27, 2016

Darren Clarke has added three familiar names to his coaching staff for the 2016 Ryder Cup. 

Padraig Harrington, Thomas Bjorn and Paul Lawrie will serve as vice captains for Team Europe at Hazeltine Golf Club on Sept. 30 – Oct. 2, when the Europeans will aim for their fourth consecutive Ryder Cup victory. Clarke will select two more vice captains later this summer.

Harrington has competed in six Ryder Cups, notching a 9-13-3 career record as member of four winning teams. He also served as a vice captain on Paul McGinley’s victorious squad at Gleneagles in 2014.

Bjorn competed in Gleneagles thanks to two Euro Tour victories in 2013. You may remember him for his really awesome beard. He also was a competitor in 1997 and 2002, and an assistant in ’04, ’10 and ’12 — all winning squads.

Lawrie, the 1999 British Open champ, played on the ’99 and 2012 teams. This will be his first appearance as a vice captain.

Team USA captain Davis Love III has already announced four of his vice captains: Tiger Woods, Jim Furyk, Steve Stricker and Tom Lehman.

Each team’s 12-man roster will be comprised of eight automatic selections and four captain’s picks. The first eight players will be locked in after The Barclays, the first leg of the FedEx Cup. Each captain will then pick three players after the BMW Championship, then a final selection after the Tour Championship. Here’s how the teams currently stand:


1. Jordan Spieth

2. Dustin Johnson

3. Bubba Watson

4. Brandt Snedeker

5. Rickie Fowler

6. Phil Mickelson

7. Zach Johnson

8. Brooks Koepka


1. Danny Willett

2. Rory McIlroy

3. Matthew Fitzpatrick

4. Andy Sullivan

5. Henrik Stenson

6. Justin Rose

7. Sergio Garcia

8. Rafa Cabrera-Bello