2021 Jack Nicklaus Award: Finalists announced for nation’s top men’s college golfers

jack nicklaus award

John Pak, left, and Pierceson Coody are among the 25 finalists for the Jack Nicklaus Award.

Getty Images

Another college golf season is officially coming to a close. After a year in which players and coaches faced unprecedented challenges, all that’s left to tie a bow on the season is to crown the champions and hand out some individual hardware.

One of the accolades that will be awarded next month is the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award Presented by True Spec Golf. (Jack Nicklaus Companies and True Spec are both affiliates of The award, given annually to the nation’s top male collegiate golfers across Divisions I, II and III, plus the NAIA and NCJAA, is one of the college game’s most sought-after honors.

“When you look at the list of finalists for this year’s Jack Nicklaus Award, each and every one of them has put together an impressive collegiate resume,” Nicklaus said. “I actually had a chance to meet several of the finalists at the recent Walker Cup, and they are not only very talented golfers, but quality young men. It’s yet another example that our game’s future is in good hands. I wish all the finalists the best of luck.”

The 2020 winners were Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine, DI); Zach Zediker (Delta State, DII); Rob Wuethrich (Illinois Wesleyan, DIII); Ben Rebne (Dalton State, NAIA); and Jon Hopkins (Mississippi Gulf Coast, NJCAA); they joined a list of glittering list of former winners, including Tiger Woods, Phil Mickelson and Justin Thomas.

This week, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced its list of finalists for the Jack Nicklaus Award. The winners will be announced on June 6 at the Memorial Tournament, in Dublin, Ohio.

Here are the finalists:

Jack Nicklaus Award Finalists

Division I:

-Pierceson Coody, Texas

-Noah Goodwin, Southern Methodist

-John Pak, Florida State

-Ryan Hall, South Carolina

-Davis Thompson, Georgia

John Pak at the Walker Cup earlier this month. getty images

Division II:

-Andrew Becker, Washburn

-Dan Bradbury, Lincoln Memorial

-Keegan Bronnenberg, Indianapolis

-Trevor Norby, Oklahoma Christian

-Alejandro Restrepo, West Florida

Keegan Bronnenberg at the 2021 Division II Men’s Golf Championship, where he won the individual title. getty images

Division III:

-Andre Chi, Methodist

-Will Hocker, Webster

-Jason Li, Carnegi Mellon

-James Mishoe, Guillford

-Rob Wuethrich, Wesleyan

Andre Chi at the 2021 Division III Men’s Golf Championship. getty images


-Lucas Cena, Keiser

-Dawson Peters, South Carolina Beaufort

-Ruan Pretorius, Point

-Ben Rebne, Dalton State

-Ryan van der Klis, Point

Dawson Peters plays for the University of South Carolina Beaufort. USCB


-Cecil Belisle, South Mountain

-Peyton Coursey, Tyler

-Harry Crockett, Hutchinson

-Ben Partridge, Hutchinson

-Sam McKenzie, Midland

Harry Crockett is one of two finalists from Hutchinson (Kans.) Community College. Steve Carpenter/Blue Dragon Sports Information
Exit mobile version